Epic Quote Challenge | Share Your Quote/Book and Win SBD

in #contest6 years ago

Heyho Readers! How are you? Let's share a picture of our favourite quotes and talk about books.

thumb
Photo by Jonathan Francisca on Unsplash

After the great success and fun of previous book related contests I've participated, my friend @riverflows gently gave me this idea, of starting a quote contest.

We all know the importance of reading and I believe it's a hobby for us all, except me including me. Reading will not only help us pass time, but they'll bring knowledge; or transport us to places we'd never be otherwise; it can teach us history, making us aware of past mistakes of humanity; it can take us into insane adventures. My favourite type of book are the travel ones, anything related to adventure will hook me. I also like biographies of those people I admire. Fantasy is another options - who here doesn't read Game of Thrones?

So, without further ado... let's get to the contest idea - The Epic Quote Challenge.

I love quotes! Some of them, sometimes, make me stop reading, just to reflect on the idea of that phrase. Some quotes can be really impactful and make us re-think life, or they can inspire us into doing something. I love them so much that I have one tattooed to my body.

This time I'd like to know your best quotes, but I don't want something taken randomly online, I'd like to know those that are really impactful on your life and where it comes from. By doing this you are not only sharing a quote, but you'll also share a book title, which will expand our library list.

Win SBD for sharing your Epic Quote!

The contest officially ends at 11:59 PM GMT, June 21th.

RULES

On the Epic Quote Challenge you'll have to share a quote that is important for you. The rules are simple.

  • Upvote this post. (This is crucial for being eligible)

I don't want to read random quotes you took from the internet, I want you to bring something that is really valuable for you. For that we'll have some scores.

  • Share a picture of the book (1 point)
  • If you show the quote underlined (1 point)
  • Tell us about the book (1 point)
  • Tell us why you love that quote (1 point)
  • Tell us why it's worth reading the book (1 point)

Obs.: Even though this is a travel related blog and I'm a travel reader, feel free to explore whatever quote you like. Some cool travel quotes will possibly make my heart beat stronger though.

HOW TO PLAY (2.5 - 5 points)

I won't force you into writing a full post about the book you like, but if you feel like so, it'll add a lot to the community, hence giving you (5 points). It's up to you!

  • Use the tag #epicquote if you decide to do a complete review of the book and don't forget to share your quote, make sure to follow the rules for extra points; you can place your link on the comments down below.

OR you can share your book on the comments down below, same general rules but you'll get (2.5 points).

  • Share your book and quote on the comments down below, make sure to follow the rules for extra points

The remaining (10 points) will be judged by me based on how your quote impacted myself.

  • Total (20 points), the person with more points win.

THE GAME DURATION & PRIZE

  • The game will be up for ONE WEEK.
  • Winner will be announced on a post next week .
  • The prize will be of 5 SBD that will be distributed to the absolute winner right after the contest ends.
  • If this post doesn't reach 5 SBD payout, winner will receive 100% SBD of the post reward.
  • All participants will receive my full upvote, it's not much, but it's something xD

Stay tuned as tomorrow I'll release my own book/quote.

I hope you've enjoyed this contest idea and that we can flood Steemit with awesome books. Let's bring knowledge to the community. Happy reading!

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Photo Series #68: Street Art | Photography | Colourful Photo

Road Trip Serie (Part I) - Visiting Rio Grande do Sul - Brazil

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

Monday Morning Quote: "The very basic core of a man's living spirit is his passion for adventure"

7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 7 | Community - You Rock!

A proud member of the Steemit Travellers community:

Sort:  

Yaasssss! This might be my favorite contest ever! I love sharing about books with people who care about books. I'm excited to read other people's favorite book quotes. I'll be back with my entry! 😄💚📚

Woooho @powellx5, I'm curious to know what you'll bring! If you decide to do a post about your quote/book link it here so I can see.

Thanks for your enthusiasm.

Alright, I'm back with my entry!


My entry:
A Contest Of Quotes

rsz_rsz_downloadfile-53.jpg



You have made a full post @powellx5!

How amazing is that! Thank you so much for participating and helping spreading the books all over Steemit. I'm already reading it!

Book photo cover

IMG_20180615_030859.jpg
Quote underlined

IMG_20180615_030846.jpg

About the book.
The book how europe underdeveloped Africa is all about how europe use their power and experiance in changing the perspective of Africa into the one they desired through colonialism.

Why i love the quote
The quote is telling you that you must read through me, for you to understand how Africa came into existant, and what may continue happening in it.

It is worth reading
As an African i find it worth reading becouse it covered some part of my history.

My favourite book. How Europe Underdeveloped Africa by Walter Rodney
Favourite quote" it would be impossible to understand how the present came into being and what trends are for the near future" @mrprofessor @aasanka

@asanka that's awesome! You were really quick to respond. Looks like a thick book and worth reading to understand your history.

Awesome @aasanka! It's lovely that you were so quickly to attend the contest and it's even more lovely your passion and enthusiasm for your roots. Guess we think alike, we need to study history, to understand the present!

Thank you so so much for sharing a book about Africa, I still want to explore your continent as a great portion of Brazil's culture comes from there.

ha what a cool idea even if I do say so myself. However, the rest of this is purely yours dude! What a great contest. I'll have a think - so many books!! Hmmmmm.... xxx

Yeahhhh @riverflows, we are a great pair of two, aren't we? Thanks for the idea, I would've never thought about it.

Still curious to see your book.

I don't want to enter because it was partly my idea, so it feels like cheating... :) xxx

Ahhh but I'll enter too, just to give people some enthusiasm and spread the importance of reading. Let's make us ineligible then.

Great.... I will enter then xxx

Once i loved quotes, motivative, inspiring, amazing, then i started hating them, just a few words that are know just because the author is well-known, then i found out that we usually like the quotes that are in us, we were not brave enough to say them loud, so we like to here them, and there are quotes that we don't agree with, so we hate. I usually don't read English paper books, so no underlining. (lol)

Suuuuup @sina-adventure, sorry for not commenting on your 7 day challenge lately, I've been insanely busy!

Well, you could share a quote in your own language, it would be awesome! Just translate it so we can understand hahahah

Screenshot_20180616-185224_Instagram.jpg

I'm currently in Thailand finalizing the adoption of our son so dont have access to the book but I would have choosen Dune. And this quote...

"I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain."

The dog tag in the image is my husband's, as posted on my health advocacy blog. I stole it soon after suffering extensive panic attacks. It reminded me that its all in my mind and I shouldn't let the fear take over my life.

Amazing @insideoutlet,

thank you so much for sharing! I love how you managed to attend, even while you are clearly doing much more important stuff. I hope everything goes perfect with the adoption.

I love that quote and I have another one to share with you.

"all the nice things is life, are on the other side of fear."

Cheers,
Arthur

"all the nice things is life, are on the other side of fear."

I like this one a lot and it's very true, thanks @mrprofessor for putting this post out there for us to interact with. :)

Oun, thank you for the comment @insideoutlet

That quote is so true, it's so reliefing when we cross that fear wall.

btw if you don't mind the question, how's the adoption process going?

Its going really well, hes attaching well and getting happier wach day. His 15 months old so temper tantrums are a challenge but they dont last all that long. Worse.part is the lack of sleep. We are cosleeping with him as recommended but he wriggles and kicks us all night. So we dont sleep. It will be better when we get home. Living in a hotel is hard.

Own 15 months!! the best wishes for your family.

Thanks we will, he is learning so much each day, we love his little problem solving brain, I had my feet on the coffee table and he couldn't get through them so after some frustration the next day he went under and now it's a cute game we play, totally adorable.

Great contest. Would sure submit my entry soon @mrprofessor.

Wohooo @celineaugustinee, thanks! I'm curious to see what you'll bring.

IMG_20180619_075258_656.jpg
It was really tough deciding which quote to share @mrprofessor. But finally made this choice 🙂- Art of war by Sun Tzu. Hope you enjoy it: https://steemit.com/epicquote/@celineaugustinee/the-art-of-war-by-sun-tzu-translated-by-thomas-cleary-i-so-much-love-this-book-in-particular-8beac588a8155

I have just one thing to say @riverflows: You-are-a-maz-ing!

Amazing!! I'm pretty sure my brother has this book. Lemme go there read your post. I love it that you've made a full post to talk about it. Thanks a loooot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43