You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Inspiration Means To Me - People, Places, And Poetry [Entry for "IFC S2R6" writing contest]

in #contest5 years ago

Another time recently when I shared about the problems that I deal with in my relationship with my parents for which I thought I would get a lot of hate and criticism, but to my surprise, the post got upvoted by @curie and was so well-received by the community and I got so many supportive comments with people sharing how they have been through the same, which made me realize the value of being open, even if you are afraid.

It can be scary but I think that the best writing comes from truth and experience. It's never easy to talk about he tough topics but I think that you will get a lot more respect for it in the long run. People might not always like the topic but they can usually relate to it. As opposed to the Instagram generation where everybody tries to look perfect most people tend to have a lot more going on in the background and it can be a relief to put it out there at times.

Sort:  

Yup. It just helps to put your problems on display because secrecy and silence is the perfect condition for anxiety to build up and thrive. When you reveal your weakness, you take away its power.

But like you said, people want to look perfect these days. They wanna show how awesome their lives are when in reality, they are just as fucked up as everyone else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80