You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 40 - Share your most undervalued work ($17 STEEM rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago

Okay, here is my entry for this week. Thanks for this awesome contest!! :)
https://steemit.com/sexism/@phoenixwren/sexism-hurts-everybody

Sort:  

I live in a somewhat conservative state where gender roles are still clinched unto, although many are becoming more woke. Being a product of such a society I still have my bias, might not be the extreme form of sexism but the very subtle part of it that may go unnoticed. I still won't let my little sisters do certain things I consider manly; I still stereotype some behaviors.

I think we cannot totally eradicate such behaviors in a short while but it is an ongoing cleansing of old norms which will take time but I'm glad this types of conversations are ongoing and reshaping our ideologies.

Nice post

Thanks. It's good that you can see it and recognize it when it happens! That's the first step, really.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63839.42
ETH 3215.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83