Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 4 {Grasshopper Plank}

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Happy Wednesday everyone! I hope you are having a productive week so far. My week started out pretty busy, but it is settling down a little bit until the weekend hits. I do need to get my next round of planking videos done so that I'm ready for 2 more weeks of fitness to share with you all! Today is also the last day to enter for week one, so don't forget to get in your post. 😃

Today I am showing another similar variation to the past two planks--this time it is the Grasshopper! I am demonstrating on the Bosu again, but as with the other versions you could also do this one with your hands on the floor or elevated on a sturdy surface. The more modified version is to touch your foot down as you bring your knee in across the body, then the more challenging version that I show in the second half is leaving the foot elevated as you drive the knee across towards the opposite elbow.

Cues:

  1. As usual, try to maintain stability through the whole body while performing the move. The hands should not wobble too much side to side on the ball.
  2. Use slow controlled movements to really stretch through the hip and drive that knee towards the elbow. This is another really good mobility move because it will test that range of motion through your hips.
  3. Use the breath to help regulate the movement to maintain a steady cadence.

Beginner: Perform 5 repetitions each leg (10 total)

Intermediate: Perform 8 repetitions each leg (16 total)

Advanced: Perform 10 repetitions each leg (20 total)

As with last week feel free to do each move just once per day or repeat 2-3 times through. You can also put them into groups for a more challenging workout if you don't get a chance to do them every day. The step out, spiderman and grasshopper are all great moves to combine together for an excellent warm up or hip mobility routine. I regularly incorporate them all before runs or after I have been sitting at my computer for a while--hint, hint... 😉

Happy planking!

Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 3
Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 2
Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 1

*Make sure to consult your health professional if you have any current or prior medical issues that may prohibit starting a new exercise program.



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks so much! I appreciate the share!

I am inviting you to join my Challenge here

I'll come check it out when I get the chance!

Good information

Posted using Partiko Android

I just couldn’t keep up. Thought I was going really well until day 6 and it just became too much. I am not giving up altogether of course but realizing my limits at this point. I have a lower back problem and I need to build up my strength more slowly. I am doing your easier first planks every day to give me the strength I need for more technical challenges like this. Yes u are a great trainer and I love what you are doing. Plenty will succeed for sure and be better and healthier for it. You have helped me to realize though that I need to do these type of exercises and so I continue with simple low planks daily until I am in a league as you others are.Thanks for being an inspiration. 🤗❤️🌈💛🦋🌴

I always tell my clients that are always going to know their body better than I do! I would so much rather hear you are modifying to suit your body's current needs than push through at the risk of doing damage. Some of these moves are challenging even in the modified form, so there is no shame in sticking with the basics for now until you've built up enough strength to make sure your core muscles can support your spine as they should. I'm just so happy you have given it a try and are taking inspiration to do what you can! Take your time, keep listening to your body and I'm sure you will continue to gain strength in a healthy manner. Thank you for the support--I get just as much inspiration from others as I hope to give out!! 🌟

Thanks so much you are so beautiful and so understanding 🤗❤️🌈🌴

Fitness is for everybody, not just the elite athletes. :) I tend to get really tight hips that can pull my low back out of whack every now and then, so I have to modify and go back to basics at times, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95