Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 5 {Bosu Side Toe Taps or Plank Jacks}

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Hey folks! We are already getting towards the end of the second week of planking! Are your abs getting tired yet? I hope you are all modifying where needed or challenging yourself to try new things. There is no wrong way to join in as long as you are listening to your body and taking your fitness to a new level one day at a time!

Today brings another fun Bosu plank variation. My pal Julie is demonstrating a plank with a side toe tap or a harder version with plank jacks. If you thought regular jumping jacks were a blast, wait until you try this. As with the other versions, this one can also be done with hands on the floor or elevated.

Cues:

  1. Place your hands directly underneath your shoulders and make sure they don't shift throughout the movement and compromise your base.
  2. Keep the hips level during either the side tap or the jumping jack motion by really locking in your core and squeezing your butt muscles.
  3. Take it slow to start and if you feel solid then feel free to speed up the movement while still maintaining form.

Beginner: Perform 5 repetitions each leg or 10 jumps

Intermediate: Perform 8 repetitions each leg or 16 jumps

Advanced: Perform 10 repetitions each leg or 20 jumps

I actually really like the plank jack for some reason, but then again I always liked jumping jacks, too. 😉 The jumping version is a great way to add in some cardiovascular work because it will most certainly get your heart rate up! Both options are also a great way to incorporate both the adductors and abductors (muscles on the inside and outside of the legs) as opposed to sitting in the silly in and out machines at the gym. Do these on their own or along with some of the other plank movements from earlier in the week.

Happy planking!

Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 4
Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 3
Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 2
Plank Challenge Week 2, Day 1

*Make sure to consult your health professional if you have any current or prior medical issues that may prohibit starting a new exercise program.



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

OMG! I am making sure I have your number on speed dial to come and pick me up. ;)

I will give it a try! I will check back later and let you know how I did.

Upped and Steemed

Haha, I'll be right over if you need me. ;) I look forward to seeing how you do!

Oh I don't have a bosu here unfortunately =( I'll wait for the next one =)

You can do any of these on the floor, too @evecab! It's fun to show some different options, but I know a lot of people don't have all the tools. Or you can drop your feet on a low step or weight plate, too. :)

I love your new graphic that ends your blog posts.

Hey @vegetarianbaker! How have you been? @woman-onthe-wing created the really vibrant one for me all on her own. She did a fantastic job! She designed a really lovely one for @delishtreats, as well.

Oh wow. That's stunning. I wish I was that talented.

I've been good, but crazy busy with work. But I really miss posting content. I'm going to try to be more active from now on.

You are pretty darn talented in the kitchen! I'm not very artistically inclined either, so it is nice to have people I know who are. :)

Looking forward to seeing you back around some more!

I'm looking forward to catching up doing a full core workout today with all the new variations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64