1984, My Most Influential BooksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest5 years ago

book.jpg


I've been an avid reader all my life and most of the books I choose are for recreation. Because I'm not a fan of science fiction, it's a little surprising that one of the most influential books in my life has been 1984, by George Orwell. I think I like that book so much for the reasons that make it a classic. It is great story, well told, with a main character that readers can relate to.

What's most surprising to me as the years pass is how much of that book seems to be played out in real life.

News bureaus write only approved "news". Secret agencies spy on citizens. There are prisons where people can disappear, without ever getting a hearing. This doesn't just happen in so-called dictatorships, but in what are supposed to be democracies.

I think Orwell was brilliant. He managed to write a fiction book that helps many of us to understand what is going on in real life.

So, if I am to choose one book, 1984 has probably ben the most influential book in my life.


The book picture was adapted from Pixabay, user markusspiske.

Sort:  

What's most surprising to me as the years pass is how much of that book seems to be played out in real life.

I totally agree with you. This book should be mandatory in schools and a must for the new generations, the sons of facebook times. Dictatorship nowadays can take different and more subtle ways. Some of them are innocent entertainments making our brains and consciences asleep while we don't even realize it.

Yes. I agree. Subtle but pround influences.

Congratulations @pokerm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95