A slightly different SBI contest results #1

in #contest5 years ago

The problem of the last contest was:
x² = -1
The solution to this is not to hard, although it is still often teached in school that this has no solution:
x² = -1 | √

x = √-1
And that's mostly it. Now you just need to know that i is defined as:
i = √-1

x = i
There also are 2 other possible solutions which would need knowledge about quaternions(the 4d version of complex number with i, j and k):
x = j and x = k

The last two solutions are less popular and no one got that.
The first solution was chosen correctly by 2 people:
@heraclio and @ajayyy
So I put their names into a self-written random selector:
Screenshot from 2019-08-13 10-56-37.png
Congratulations @heraclio . You won one SBI:
Screenshot from 2019-08-13 11-07-42.png

The next contest will start tomorrow and will be slightly different.

Sort:  

Ah, I missed this. I should pay more attention! I used to post many maths problems. Good to see some new ones - especially with a little twist. I don't think I would have summoned the quaternion solution, although having got that far we could go all the way with the infinite number of solutions afforded by the exponential notation and adding n.2pi radians.

Oh yeah, you got a random upvote! That's how I found the post.

Then you should really join the next contest.

i = the i unit vector, or am I just misunderstanding?

No, 'i' the imaginary unit. If I was talking about the unit vector I would use the correct symbol 'î'.

Although complex numbers are sometimes compared to vectors, they are fundamentally different.

Okay, that makes more sense. Thanks!

The next contest is online.

The next contest is online.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68