The Writers’ Block Sci-Fi Challenge--UPDATE 12/17

in #contest6 years ago

UPDATE ON CONTEST!!!.


My goodness, what a great response to this contest we've had! At the Writers' Block, we've met a whole gaggle of new people who dropped in with questions and submissions. This has prompted me to extend the deadline a bit. Instead of the 22nd, as originally stated, I will accept submissions posted in the Writers' Block Fiction queue until midnight on
Sunday, December 31.

Originally, we had hoped to have the first round edited and in revision before the holidays. But I believe that's out of the question, so to keep everyone from having to deal with this through the festive season, we're relaxing our timeline. All we require by the 31st is that the submission be in the Writers' Block fiction queue, with “Sci-Fi Challenge: [whateveryourtitleis]” as the title. Our editors will spend the first two weeks of January helping revise these first drafts and mentoring. Once they're done, probably mid-January, we'll go into the last phase of editing and judging and by the end of the month, announce winners.

Here is a brief recap of the original contest post.

I’m closing the competition to anyone who has ever been curated by The SFT. This frees up many of our best writers and editors to act as mentors during the process. Participants will not post their stories on Steemit or any other public website. Instead, entries will be submitted to the fiction queue at The Writers’ Block titled “Sci-Fi Challenge: [whateveryourtitleis.]” I’ll provide a link at the bottom of this post that will take you directly to The Writers’ Block on Discord.

After submission, each entry will be evaluated by our team of editors, who will offer feedback and suggestions. Authors who survive this experience will then revise and resubmit. Based on the resubmissions, we’ll choose five candidates to move to the next round. We’ll rank those entries once that round is judged and award SBD or Steem prizes, depending on the external markets.

Third place will receive 5 SBD or Steem, whichever is lower in market value at the time, and second place will receive 10 SBD or Steem, whichever is lower in market value at the time. All entrants except the top finisher are free to publish on Steemit at this point and hopefully by then, we can secure them some hefty upvotes.

The top finisher will be awarded 10 SBD or 10 Steem, whichever has the highest value at that moment. We want to make sure our winner is rewarded well. Although we are at the mercy of the market, we hope the USD conversion will be somewhere around $100. That’s because we believe your effort is worth something.

Word count would ideally be between 1,000 and 3,000. A higher or lower word count will not negatively affect your chances, but do keep in mind that lengthier submissions may not upload properly to Steemit.

Good luck! I look forward to seeing your submissions in the queue.





For more info about The Writers' Block and a link to our Discord group, click the gif above.

For direct access to The Writers' Block Discord group, CLICK HERE.

Sort:  

Looking forward to seeing more entries! So much to edit. Glad the deadline is extended. And don't forget you can ask for help brainstorming also!

Amazing, thanks for the extended deadline! :)
I'm looking forward to participating in this sci-fi challenge!

I am so glad you'll be involved!!!

Very thankful for the extended deadline. Things have been chaos this past week!

Dropping the hard-fiction restriction also helps a bit, as I don't have to keep that much of a close watch over what I'm attributing to scientific phenomena.

I'm motivated to write a greatly polished piece by the end of this, and that might be just as valuable as the prizes.

Again, truly an amazing idea.

A greatly polished piece is a bigger prize! That's the right attitude, too.

Hi @rhondak, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thanks for the update. I've upvoted and resteemed. I still want to have something ready to show before the end of this week regardless of the deadline extension.

Outstanding! I'm quite excited to see what you bring. :-)

I've only made it to a couple but so far so good... and there are many in the queue. Keep them coming.

Saya menyukai postingan anda keren..!
@rhondak

This is honestly a relief to hear.

Thank you!

I had intended to get involved in this contest, but unfortunately, I became ill and was unable to work. I hope to be able to get to know some of the writers on Steemit and enter some of these type contests so that my writing can be crititiqued and I can receive helpful suggestions for improvements. Thanks for offering these opportunities and I hope to take advantage of something like this in the future.

You are welcome to join the Writers' Block anytime, contest or not. :-) http://www.writersblockcentral.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68