Can Coffee help prevent Atherosclerosis?

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


Can Coffee help prevent Atherosclerosis?

The vast majority of us (and it certainly is more than 50% of us) drink coffee on a daily basis with an average of three cups daily. I know I myself enjoy my coffee in the morning and possibly an additional one in the afternoon prior to heading home from a busy day at work.

It now seems that a new study published offers some more evidence to the fact that coffee is good for us and that consuming more than three cups a day may lower our risks of atherosclerosis, one of the main risk factors for heart disease.

Now we all know that some of us cannot function without our morning dose of caffeine and once we have it, we become a fully functional person. It seems that there certainly is more than meets the eyes with this mainstay beverage for many of us, aside from the mental boost it provides us.

One study last year eluded to the fact that coffee showed a 70% reduction that in liver disease. Other research has linked it with a reduction in the risks of strokes and heart attack.

This new research published in the Journal of the American heart Association found that from a cohort of 4426 individuals that consumed more than 3 cups a day decreased the odds of sub-clinical atherosclerosis.

“ In multiple logistic regression analysis  intake of coffee and smoking status interaction, significant inverse associations were observed between coffee consumption (>3 cups/d) and CAC≥100 (odds ratio [OR]: 0.85 [95% confidence interval, 0.58–1.24] for ≤1 cup/d; OR: 0.73 [95% confidence interval, 0.51–1.05] for 1–3 cups/d; OR: 0.33 [95% confidence interval, 0.17–0.65] for >3 cups/d). Moreover, there was a statistically significant interaction effect for coffee consumption and smoking status (P=0.028 for interaction). After stratification by smoking status, the analysis revealed a lower OR of coronary calcification in never smokers drinking >3 cups/d (OR: 0.37 [95% confidence interval, 0.15–0.91]), whereas among current and former smokers, the intake of coffee was not significantly associated with coronary calcification.“


So for those of you who enjoy your daily dose of coffee and restrict yourself to just the one, here is a little bit of good news to increase your daily little treat.

Of note I would say that Coronary Artery Calcium (CAC) scores are the most effective means of identifying possible or undetected heart disease and is much better at identifying any heart disease than the conventional Rutherford score, watch this space for more news.


This post is an OFFICIAL PORT on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 

Sort:  

What about tea? Is there any beneficial effect from tea and in particular green tea ?

I may have to reevaluate my coffee habit.
My on going partial collection of McD's and Timmy's free coffee coupons.

Starbuck's gift cards not included.

I'm a coffee fiend, and I, like you don't really have trouble sleeping after and evening cup of coffee... and I love it strong and bold. It's great to know that something so yummy, isn't bad for you!!

I must admit I am certainly spoiled by a wide selection of coffees, along with arabic, and turkish coffee, as well as arabica, I must admit I am not that fussy as far as where it is from, but I do like it strong with a good splash of cream in it.

Same here, I've also had the pleasure of trying Turkish coffee once, such big flavor packed in a little cup, it was delicious, and yes a little splash of cream for me too!

This is good news for us coffee drinkers! I usually have 2 or 3 cups a day - any more and I cant sleep properly

Yes depending on how busy I am i tend to have at least 2-3. Sometimes if i am busy doing a big assignment during the weekend i may even have double that. But surprisingly i can tend to sleep ok even if i have a coffee late at night.

Lucky for you! I get anxiety aswell so best not to drink tooooo much coffee

I used to be an "Any coffee will do" sort of coffee drinker, although lately Im finding myself pretty particular to the bean and style of brewing. I think I may be becoming a coffee snob. @ironshield

I feel you!! I have a friend that is obsessed with the whole process from grinding and filtering to how he boils his water and everything, a bit OCD if you ask me but hey each to their own. I think my taste buds must not be that cultured because he swears by Juan Valdez, and he hates it when I say it's just like any other coffee.

What about Rockstars and other energy drinks because I drink those like other people drink coffee...2-4 a day.

Energy drinks, despite having caffeine and Taurine in them from that famous brand that gives you wings :) were actually band from the British Military as some guys would drink them during their fitness assessments and ended up dehydrated and on occasions it resulted in Fatalities.

I mean if you were happy to put 16 teaspoons of sugar in each coffee then i guess there wouldn't be that much difference. ( Rockstar has about 32g (8 teaspoons)sugar per serving)

Oh Yippee!!!! Something I can have more of not less LOL....

Yes until they change their minds again and say its bad for you.
However I wouldn't listen to them and continue to drink it with my cream as well!!

ARR, dead men's ale is all I be fillin' me belly matey! Aye, ye be addin' bountiful lives after ye rest under the seven seas if yer belly is filled wit' ale! Ask @dreemsteem, this be her third life sailin' the seas.

Just as well they be dead!! oderwise they might be have something to say about ye drinkin it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48