You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lost Track Contest - 3 STEEM and 100% SBD to win!

in #contest6 years ago

I had a friend that asked me to come help this fix their computer last November within the first 10 days. Should have been a real quick 1 hour task; a windows 10 update and we are good to go. This is a windows 7 machine that her son got a free Microsoft upgrade to windows 10. I set it up to do it's thing and come back 8 hours later and the update process is stuck at 96%. So I restore a previous windows 10 image, of an earlier date. I come back a few days later because it had autoupdated on my friend and was stuck again at 96%. I searched Microsoft's database and they tell me to download a program, do a scan and then do the update. 6 hours later we are frozen in the 90% range again. I ended up spending more then 60 hours searching for and trying different alternatives over the course of 2 months... Eventually in late December I said we are going to wipe the drive and install fresh, being that she didn't have a key for windows 10 and didn't have a copy of windows 7. She ended up with the simplest version of windows 10 and is happy to have a functioning computer again and I am happy to have my time back.

Sort:  

This comment has received a 0.03 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @royaleagle.

That windows thing is shit.
My parents upgraded to win10. It is horrible.
I stick to win7 as long as possible on desktop.

I just realised, I only stick to windows, because of notepad++. There is no such editor on Linux. And I use that tool all the time.
Strange..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67280.14
ETH 3764.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57