My Addiction : How it started...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest6 years ago

caricature.jpg

My winning entry for a $50,000 home makeover contest. The words translated means, 'Thank you, deco with Eric, crew and sponsors...'

faces of caricature.jpg

These are the beautiful faces that started me on a quest as a serial contest participant.
The first picture is Eric Leong (celebrity home makeover artist), Vimala Wilkinson (TV Producer) and Madam Ng (Representative of the sponsors)


I have been an artist for as long as I can remember. I am good in only a few things and writing is NOT one of them. I get frustrated when most of the competition organised involves slogan writing. I always wish they have drawing contest with huge prizes.

The Home Makeover Contest


There was this one huge house makeover competition held by a local television station. It was hosted by Eric Leong, a celebrity home makeover artist. Like most of the participants I got to know of the makeover from an advertisement and we are required to audition for it in One Utama, Damansara in Kuala Lumpur. There was only 10 spots. The people queuing up for the 10 spots are in the hundreds. Mathematically, I don’t stand a chance.

I stayed positive. I told myself, I rather die trying than not trying. I queued for an hour and then the announcement came. They are adjourning the audition to the next day because there are simply too many participants. We were told to go home and there was an additional task given to us, we have to write 100 words why we deserve the makeover.


eureka1.jpg

source

Eureka! An idea crossed my mind. I am not going to write, I am going to draw! I drew a messy house that is so deserving of a makeover and it caught the attention of the host. The rest, as they said, is HISTORY!

DBEwinYoutube.jpg

Sort:  

seni adalah ledakan @deidara

Bgus crtanya sdah say vote
Slhkn vote kmbli @kupi

baikla @kupi. sudah follow.

thank you sir . This post is very beautiful.

tq so much

Congratulations @sireh, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 4003 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $780.46. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice to meet you @sireh . Nice cartoon drawing,. are you in Majalah Apo/Ujang or something? I swear I've seen that cartoon back in my teen days (Still teen btw!) . haha. Anyway, steem on bro.

Hi. Yeah I was in Apo. Been drawing for sometime. Glad to meet someone who has seen my work...its always a warm feeling.

Haha...that is my work alright...where did u get it?

I am sure your entry was the most unique. Congrats by the way :)

I really hope so...otherwise i stand no chance. Not in essay writing...

Terima kasih pak

Congratulations @sireh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00