ADVENTURE READING CONTEST #1 WINNERS!!! 📖

in #contest6 years ago

When I created this contest, I had no idea if anyone would even want to participate. But the bookworms of Steemit stepped up and blew me away!!!

Not only did I receive multiple entries from around the world, but they were so well-crafted and creative. Leave it to readers to be fantastic storytellers. I loved these glimpses into your lives and your reading habits.

Of course, this made me want to add a bunch of new awards so I could honor each of your strengths. But I had to pick amongst the 3 categories I had chosen, so here we are. Drumroll, please.

The Winners

Photo Winner: @tin-tin
"Cast in Deception" in the Middle of Orchestra Practice

There are so many hilarious and artsy photographs of the book hidden behind @tin-tin's cello, on her music stand, and in her lap. What a great way to capture the excitement of getting a new, long-awaited book and being unable to wait to dig into the pages - even if it means your cello playing suffers!

Storytelling Winner: @winstonalden
"From Dawn to Decadence" in the Classiest Way Possible

To match the historical tone of his book, @winstonalden typed his entry on an old-school Royal Arrow typewriter, edited it by hand, and digitized the final results. There are even two colors of ribbon involved. Then there's the writing itself - warm and witty, it draws you into the author's life, the book's backstory, and shows how putting on fancy clothes can be an adventure!

Community Winner: @awhsarada
"The Silver Chair" in a Cozy Bedroom in Venezuela

Not only was @awhsarada the first one to enter the contest, she also upvoted and commented on every single entry. I also saw some upvotes and GREAT, thoughtful comments from everyone else mentioned here. I want the biggest reward for this Adventure Reading contest to be the community engagement it creates, and you guys showed it can be possible!


Honorable Mention

My Favorite Adventure: @holothewise
"Austerlitz" in South African Mountains

Check out this workplace! It's enough to make me want to become a field biologist. And eating lunch on a rock with a book in hand - @holothewise is clearly a reader after my own heart.


The Payouts

10 SBD from me + 21.421 SBD from first post + 6.953 SBD from update post = 38.374 SBD
Split equally three ways = 12.791 SBD
At current exchange rates, that's over $60 USD per winner!

Payouts.png

I also 100% upvoted every entry and 20% upvoted my favorite comments.


I had enough participation to encourage me to continue this contest, so look for an Adventure Reading Contest #2 on Sunday!

Feel free to review the rules and start planning and crafting your entry. I may be changing some of the prizes/judging based on what I learned from this first attempt, but the premise will be the same.

Since the books we're reading are always changing, I welcome everyone to join as many times as they like! Hopefully, the fun of creation and the support from others makes it a worthwhile endeavor, even if you don't win.

Finally, I want to extend a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone who supported this contest in any way!

Virtual hugs to all of you. You have made this roving reader very happy. You helped me share my favorite activity with others and gave me the power to reward those who dared to try something new.
- Katie, @therovingreader

Sort:  

Jskanbdka I didn't expect this XD thank you for creating an amazing contest, looking forward to next one!

You did great, both with your entry and supporting others! :D

I wanted to get an entry in, but alas my crazy schedule didn't permit it. Congrats to all those who participated, and especially to those who won! Everyone's a winner!

No worries, hopefully I'll see you in the next one!

Wow! Teehee, thanks @therovingreader! I had lots of fun (ᗒᗨᗕ)

It sure looked like you did! Hope to see some more adventures from you. :)

This was so much fun to do - and that prize was a lot more than I expected - thanks so much for putting it together.

Off to catch up on the other entries now...

You're welcome and congratulations!

Hah! Glad I found this. :D Will join on the next one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67