OLD LONG LOVE - Stach Short story Contest

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

I took today off from work. Life was beginning to choke me and I knew I needed a break.

Life for me has always been very busy, I was a workaholic and I was not apologetic about it so a full day without anything to do was the strangest thing for me.

In order not to be tempted to go back to my laptop, I left the house and strolled to the beach. The beach which was just ten minutes- walk from my house was the most serene place I knew.

It was just seven in the morning and the tourists had not started flooding the beach so I took the liberty of sitting really close to the water and scanning for sea shells until a sight stopped my search.

It was the sight of a really old couple in love.

Russian-photographer-makes-wonderful-photos-with-an-elderly-couple-showing-that-love-transcends-time-5971041437838-png__880.jpg
source

The woman was blindfolded while her husband led her to the shore and told her to sit by the water. Then he turned away from her and drew a very big love shape in the sand and I guess he wrote their names in the love shape.

o-OLDER-COUPLE-ROMANCE-facebook.jpg
source

He sprinkled some rose petals in the middle and signaled some children which I guess were his grandchildren, to release the love shaped balloons in their hands and then he removed her blindfold.

7219fbfd541436275f73f4ea7bbf9b39--happy-couples-romantic-couples.jpg
source

She took one look at the scene and covered her eyes, it was so cute that I wanted to cry and then she stood on tip toes and kissed his wrinkled cheeks. In turn, he ruffled her grey hairs and planted his own kiss at the center of her forehead.

8ee3ffe0448b714b94f4a30027cb5231--love-is-sweet-real-love.jpg
source

The children cheered and I looked away to clean the escaping tears.

Russian-photographer-makes-wonderful-photos-with-an-elderly-couple-showing-that-love-transcends-time-5971043a89352-png__880.jpg
source

I picked up my phone to call my abandoned boyfriend. I needed to make amends and a warm hug too; my laptop can’t give that to me.

*****Okay so i am a bit pissed off because this is the second time i am posting this on my blog, the first one simply disappeared and i couldnt find it

Anyways, I wont let it annoy me too much.. So I wrote this for the Stach short story contest and because of the word count limitation, I decided to make a full post out of it..

Well the pictures do not really follow the story, I just used them because I think they are lovely and because I love old couples in love (pun intended)..I would have shared more pictures but I am still a bit annoyed that my first post disappeared. Actually, come to think of it, its no one's fault that it disappeared so I will just share them again...Much love people!

b53d0579d9a4df78d62d9c0ae8566d24--old-couples-couples-in-love.jpg
source

60f7a117c394d4eead6fc6f6f3295622--still-in-love-love-is.jpg
source

Sort:  

Very sensual. Very nice to see such beautiful old couple photos.

I am glad you like it!

Congratulations @tolarnee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice story, cleverly written. Nice use of words to conjure imagery.Goodluck in the contest. Well done

Thanks a whole lot!!!

Hey i've write about mums can you read it , and give me vote if you like it

Hi, I have visited your blog and seen you are new. Your blog is ok. Engage with people constructively and they'd visit your blog without you asking for it. Welcome to steemit.

Loads of information. Thanks. Love it. @tolarnee Followed

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tolarnee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Lovely! thanks for sharing :) btw great post @tolarnee

Thank youuuu

wow! excellent story,

thank you so much!!!

you are welcome! tolarnee

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 78.26 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Congratulations @tolarnee, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1629 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2596.47. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75