Bitcoin Gold Hardfork Prediction Contest Update

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

My fellow Steemians,
I apologize for the delay in posting this update.
I had promised a 200-steem prize for the giveaway.
Since I did well on some altcoin trades lately, I've decided to give back to the Steemit community by increasing the prize money.

As good as the predictions were, no one had it right. Most predicted bitcoin to go up to the high $6K to $7K before the hard fork, however, it "only" went up to $6177 but it actually corrected right before 10/25 the fork.
BTC.jpg

However, price did go up after the fork up pushing close to $7000 ($6730) as November 1st ends.

g-dubs made the closest prediction: "we'll be just shy of $7K come Nov 1, call it $6925"
barcalogia also made a $7K prediction: "BTC $7000 after the fork".
davor27: "[bitcoin] will exceed $7K by the end of this month"
trumpman, your crypto crystal ball was pretty good also "bitcoin will increase and pass the $6000 mark" by 10/25. The highest on 10/25 was $5739.

These are the winners of the contest. I will split 200 Steems to them (50 steems each) but I will also reward all other participants who at least gave it some thought and made a price prediction, no matter how far off they were. These are:
ackza
fred101
realitybytes
dlina-v-metrah
enolife
deimus
pandamama
gold84

Each of you will receive 12.5 steems.

Total prize fund: 300 steems.

Well this has been fun. I look forward to do the next contest.
Let me know if you have any contest ideas whether it is in sports (tennis) or cryptocurrency, as those are the only two subjects I'm most interested in.

Sort:  

Thanks a lot @tytran !!!!!

I haven't been around for the last couple of weeks so I had totally forgotten about the contest, nice surprise gift haha

I forgot to ask you... what has spiked your interest in NEO?

The Red Pulse ICO on the NEO blockchain that disallowed US, Chinese, Singaporean nationals got me interested in NEO. That showed that they didn't want to get speculative money. I see NEO as a solid long term play and NEO holders get GAS tokens as dividends to boot.
Short term may see some price dips due to capital flight to Bitcoin to take advantage of B2X. I don't mind those as those dips give me opportunity to buy.

Good to know! I will keep an eye on it and watch it more closely ;)

@tytran I am Grateful for all the kind things you do for others here on STEEMIT. @ackza is how I heard about you and guys like you make me extremely happy to be a STEEMIAN

Thank you for your feedback.
@ackza was the one who convinced me to invest my time and money into this platform and I am grateful to him for doing so. I have learned and profited from the information I learned about cryptos from Steemit.

@tytran I hope we can meet in person one day. I live in Arizona and I grew up in Newport Beach. So I know California.......

I live 30 minutes away from Newport Beach!
I go to Irvine Spectrum once in a while to watch Marvel movies. I may go there to watch Justice League next weekend even though that's not a Marvel movie.

Cryptocurrencies are the future and thank goodness that we are part of it..good post.

We are still at the an early stage!

Participating in contests is the great way to interact more and more people, thanks, will participate in your next contests.

Thank you very much for the prize!

Or maybe the next contest to make the price of bitcoin in mid-December, a month after the fork?

Congrats to all winners.
I love it a challenge about tourney of masters of tennis.
I love Federer and Nadal.

Tennis won’t be the same after they retire.

Completely I agree with you.

Damn man, this is so generous of you! I can't thank you enough!

You and the other 3 winners had the closest prediction and I love your certified psychic comment! It made my day!

@tytran this is kind of you. How do I contact you as I have an idea?

Lucky steemians! Next contest idea: Bitcoin price on 1/1/18?

I'm going to guess $8,500 :-D

Thanks for the suggestion.

Thank you very much for the awards. You are a splendid person.
My suggestion for the next contest is the tennis master next week.

Yes, I was thinking that. Judging from current forms, I would not be surprised if Federer will be the favorite even though I would not count out Alexander Zverev or even the guy who surprisingly grabbed the last spot, American Jack Sock! The fact that he wasn't even expecting to qualify means he will play with nothing to lose. Depending on the odds, I'm calling my portfolio now: Federer, Zverev, Sock!

I think that Nadal, if he recovers well from his injury, is the favorite. The master's degree is the only important title that is missing.
although Federer has an important streak in his favor in the last head to head

I honestly think Nadal won’t even make the semis. This is assuming he doesn’t drop out. The only time Nadal beat Federer here was in 2013 when Federer was injured. I don’t see Nadal beating Federer here assuming he doesn’t drop out or make the semis.

Really the indoor for Nadal is not the best type of court, but I trust him a lot this year. However, I share with you Federer's favoritism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73