Contest! 2 SBDs, Author Awards, Upvotes, Resteems, Shout-Outs, and More

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


Source: Giphy

Here We Go Again!

Do you love Steemit contests? There are TONS of them!

If I had more time, I'd enter them all. Instead, I started my own! If you have 30 seconds to spare and you can write 17 syllables, you can win 2 SBD, half the post's payout, and some free publicity.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku that has something to do with board games, board game pieces, board game rules, board game brands...if it has anything related to board games, it qualifies!

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Stratego is dope

VDux played it as a boy

Beware of the bombs

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

Thank you @millennialnow for suggesting the theme!!!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, April 29, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, April 29, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And follow me! I post this contest every week or two -- make sure it gets on your feed by following me!

Awards


Source

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit. So far, it's been very, very close call with lots of great entries to choose from. Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want.

I run this haiku contest regularly so if yours doesn't win, try again next time. Here's the link to the previous winner: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/amafk-vdux-haiku-contest-winners.

And thanks to all who've entered haikus to my other contests:

@fuzzy247, @jacksondavies, @calluna, @creyestxsa94, @shawnsporter, @cheekah, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @acousticsteveo, @herbertholmes, @kaelci, @mineopoly, @dizzyjay, @rlt47, @pocketmouse, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @impending.doom, @operahoser, @jadams2k18, @tygertyger, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @eprolific, @millennialnow, @puppetmaster1111, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @andysantics48, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @viking-ventures, @dmilliz, @ohkaaay, @lologirl, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @felicitas, @mermaidvampire, @caesar2341, @kiwideb, @karenmckersie, @jacksonl, @kimberlylane, @wplymouth, @peacemaker, @robsteady, @dildil7401, @geoffreydemars

Also, follow @firepower for Steemit commentary and occasional contests, and check out @mermaidvampire for her positivity and good vibes.

Feel the Haiku!!!


Source

Sort:  

It's all mine
monopoly-1356307_1920.png
Image Source

I own all the streets
jacking up your rent is fun
you go straight to jail

Ocean currents swift
Endless sea-top skirmishes
Sunk my battleship

:D

Thank you for your haiku! I selected the winner and runner-up: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

I encourage everyone to try:

Haiku are a blast
Scramble expands vocab words
Find one that you like

Play Monopoly
Go to Jail Do not pass go
Boardwalk and Park place

The full post is here:

https://steemit.com/writing/@mineopoly/mineopoly-haikube-and-other-board-games

image.png

Where does that link go? Maybe we can do a live version. Do you know how long that game lasts?

Link didn't work? http://www.pogo.com/games/monopoly

I imagine that would be a very, very, VERY long game.

Thank you for your haiku! I selected the winner and runner-up: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

Hello @vdux, thanks for the invitation. Here's my entry.

https://steemit.com/contest/@felicitas/board-game-haiku-contest-by-vdux

Wonderful! I used to play scrabble on the regular. Still remember my best play - "JETLINER" -- bonus for using all my letters PLUS two triple-word-scores!

wow, I too love to play scrabble. Remembering my orevious company sports day where I was one of the 5 players in our department, we did 3 years champion.

Three years on top is a long time! If I win the games in a row, I'm a happy guy...

Thank you for your haiku! I selected the winner and runner-up: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

hello @vdux, I have this first entry of your contest. Thanks.
https://steemit.com/contest/@ayyeenn/haiku-contest-by-vdux-dart

Ah, ok, "board" game because of the dart board. I suppose I'd better accept it, then! Thank you for entering!

Thank you for your haiku! I selected the winner and runner-up: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

Make meaningful moves
sometimes luck rules the dabble
scrabble unravel

Sweet! I still remember my biggest score ever - "JETLINER" with two triple-word-scores.

Thank you for your haiku! I selected the winner and runner-up: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

blood-3301880_640.jpg
The Cluedo House Of Death

Murder in the hall
A stabbing in the kitchen
Par for the course here

Photo Credit

You won! https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

I'll transfer your SBDs soon, and I'll ping you when I've posted your shout-out (within next 2 days). What post would you like me to resteem?

Oh wow thank you so much!! I will be doing a post probably tomorrow titled Mica and Uta, would it be ok to wait and get it on that one? It is a story I have been working on :)

I have posted it, hopefully you don't find it offensive or indecent, there is a little violence, but all things in good measure :)

Have a look and see if it is ok for a resteem - thank you so much! :)

It's great. Resteemed. Have you published any of that outside of Steemit?

Nope, I have never really shared my writing before this

Clue! Brilliant! Excellent entry.

Phenomenal. Love the effort and the twist at the end. Uno is not a board game! I upvoted for love, but can't accept it for this contest. Submit for the next one, which will open soon!

@vdux - One more for good measure.
https://steemit.com/haiku/@rlt47/an-original-haiku-this-is-war

THIS IS WAR !

Pawns march! Kings fear queens.
Bishops fianchetto. Knights
leap rooks. THIS IS WAR!


https://goo.gl/images/ZWDjrt

Thank you for your haiku! I selected the winner and runner-up: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

Tabletop sharing
Brightly painted cardboard worlds
Life enmeshed with life

Thank you for your haiku! I selected the winner and runner-up: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winner-announcement

Nice. Last line is killer. Thank you for the haiku!

Thanks, haven't written once since grade school. :-)

No grades here! Just fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56