VDUX Haiku Contest Continues With Beauty -- Conga Optional!

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Welcome to the VDUX Haiku Conga Line!!!

Party on to win 2 SBD, author rewards, and some free publicity. All you need to do is write a haiku!

Thank @felixgarciap and @four20 for a special RUNNER-UP prize of .75 SBDs. Read the Incredible News!

Also, props to @liverussian for making everybody feel good.

Read below for more about the haiku contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about beauty. It can be happy, sad, wistful, any tone or mood. Use previous haikus, if you have any!

One rule: it must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Look at old pictures.

Stars, centerfolds, and models.

Beauty is fleeting.

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

This theme comes from @giddyupngo, who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the suggestion. If you have any suggestions, let me know!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, August 2, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, August 2, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • 0.75 SBDs
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests:

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @millennialnow, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

My Entry

Beautifully Broken

13000207_10209136246424193_1185640134078854705_n.jpg

The simple truth is
there's beauty in broken things
cracks paint a story

Wow!!!! The piece and the photo are just beautiful!

Great entry all around. Ok for me to count "there is beauty..." as "there's beauty..." to fit my haiku syllable rule?

for some reason i though it was seven but you are right it's 8 will edit if it lets me

Love should not be based
On outward appearance or
Meaningless beauty.

Great haiku. Welcome to the contest!

beauty is magic
it's shine is everlasting
it lives within you

Lovely haiku. Tremendous. Thank you for joining the contest!

Did you upvote the this post?

I'm sure I did. I will go check x

my entry
IMG_6207.JPG
Breath ripped from my lungs
Suddenly found with tied tongue
Beauty astounding

Cool. Love the photo -- gorgeous. Did you take the picture? Where was it taken?

Yes I did
It was taken September 2013 in Lucerne Valley, California . We were at the District 37 Dirt Digger Motor Cycle Club Poker Run race dedicated to the memory of my brother-in-law, who lost his battle with cancer weeks prior.
I think he brought us that sunset.

Beautiful

The depths of your eyes
Dark pools shining with your light
Put the stars to shame

You're making me blush!

Can I please join? :-)

Beauty is revealed
Through words, actions, demeanor
Prudence and wisdom.

Yes, join! Thank you for the haiku. Nicely done!

Silent dark corner!?
haiku-beauty.jpg
Dreamer awakes anew.
Much Beauty in 'trash'.


Thanks @vdux 🔆

Thanks for the haiku! Forgive me, what's in the picture?

A fruit fly on a red rose which has lost most of its petals. Just a photo I liked which kinda went with the haiku...but of course it's to be interpreted as the reader/viewer sees fit. Photo taken by me in case you are wondering :)

Beauty You Cannot Hide

Perfect as you are
You outshine your adornments
So take off your clothes

That's one hell of a pickup line!

haha well hopefully someone else has some luck with it

I am who I am.
Inside. Outside. No facade.
I am beautiful.

We all are.

Hey! Did you upvote this post?

Sorry, forgot. Upvoted!

The Beautiful Smile

How joy becomes her
Lighting up her happy face
Til she floods the room

@neenarose - this one reminded me of you joking with everyone at work - you totally need to get in on this!

:-)

Yes, @neenarose, come on, get in on this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67