VDux's Contest #2! Win 2 SBD, Free Upvotes, and More for Writing 17 Syllables

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Welcome to the Second Edition of the VDux Haiku Contest

My First Haiku Contest was so much fun, I’m doing it again. Thank you to all who entered:

@dizzyjay, @theunlimited, @acousticsteveo, @peacemaker, @robsteady, @dildil7401, @jacksonl, @puppetmaster1111, @lymmerik, @jadams2k18, @wplymouth, @crescendoofpeace, @kimberlylane, @geoffreydemars, @tygertyger

For this second contest, the rules are the same. Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Vdux writes haikus

He likes to be creative

He hopes you do too

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.


Source

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, March 2, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, March 2, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

I plan to run this haiku contest regularly so if yours doesn't win, try again next time.

Shout out to @acousticsteveo for suggesting a topic for the next haiku contest! I plan to use his suggestion.

What topic did he suggest?

Well...I’ll leave you in suspense for now. You’ll have to sleuth my blog posts to find it. Or, better yet, follow @acousticsteveo and ask him if he’ll tell you before I do! At the very least, you can listen to his tunes.

Let the contest begin!

PS — follow @moneyinfant for a daily post of Steemit contests. The newsletter includes all the best contests (and mine, too).

Sort:  

22656504994_5bf27883c0_b.jpg
Photo by Charly W. Karl on flickr

Thank you @vdux for orchestrating this contest. I'm having fun participating. Here's my entry:

Color
By Stephen Martin

Race and religion
Are often touchy subjects
Rainbow colors speak

https://steemit.com/haiku/@acousticsteveo/vdux-haiku-contest-entry

Nice! I'll upvote and resteem your post as soon as I get back a little voting power. (This will give you a little extra boost compared to if I did it now.)

Shadow my reflect
Though you are not real living
You my best friend

https://steemit.com/haiku/@eprolific/vdux-haiku-contest-entry-659a14e494d7

I dig it. Poetic. Great entry!

I love this contest this my first time knowing about Haiku and it made me think deep

Moneyinfant writes
About contests and haikus
Hoping you will too

https://steemit.com/haiku/@moneyinfant/of-contests-and-haikus

Very clever! Thank you for your entry and your support!

I don't know how clever it was, but you're welcome for my support.

IMG_0258.JPG

@vdux thanks for opening my brain to a little creativity...

A Haiku for a You
Hi small traveller
Enjoy the bumps and the ride
Go to happiness

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Great haiku and adorable picture. Who's that?




watering my sprout
every day morning I see
miracle of life



Thanks again for the opportunity @vdux

Great haiku! Thank you for your entry!

Thanks for this contest
This brought out my Haiku love
Haiku is the best

Elephants are big
Mice are not nearly as large
Story over size

Hi, thanks for this. Here's my entry into your competition:
fractal- synapse 2301403_960_720.jpg

Tendrils of colour

Fade across the dying brain
Universe awaits

Silent answer loud
Actions louder than voices
Revenge the loudest

I like this and the other one you wrote. Thanks! Great job!

Screenshot_20180227-033832.png
Ancient spirit ground
Gods clashed and burned in past lives
Now doves flutter white

https://steemit.com/wiwcontest/@hope-k/san-geronimo-chapel

Thank you for hosting this contest. 😃

Brilliant! Thank you for the entry! I'll upvote and resteem your post as soon as I get back a little voting power. (This will give you a little extra boost compared to if I did it now.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65