100+ followers = WizarDave's first contest

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Howdy all,
I've been on Steemit 3 weeks now and have reached 100+ followers.

  • Guess that's a milestone and some people do contests when that happens.
    • Have never done a contest, but here goes...

Who is WizarDave?

Here's my introductory post

WizarDave is just some guy who first saw the Internet back in '95.

  • realized it would do 2 things...
    1. Connect People to People
    2. Connect People to Information
  • made a living as a webmaster for a few years
    • watched people chase venture capital and get rich even if their idea was really stupid
      Who else remembers the dot com bubble?
      • put it all on the back burner and just considered the Internet a hobby for the next 17 years.

Ran across Steemit and realized it has the same opportunity that was available to everyone who first got involved with the Internet when it was a ground floor opportunity.

As I explained in this post

  • At first I thought it might be Too Good To Be True
    • But proved it worked and realized
      • 😎 Steemit is Too Good To Be Ignored! 😎

A few more tidbits about WizarDave:

What can you win.

I'm going to divide ALL SBD proceeds from this post between everyone who follows the rules below...

  • I'm also adding 1 SBD I already have in my wallet to the pot to be divided among all...
    • So, if you are the only one competing, you will win at least 1+ SBD

I really have no idea what the total pot will be,
or how many contestants there will be.

  • don't forget...
    • you should get a payout from promoting and curating this post direct from Steemit.
      • That's on top of what you can win from this contest...

Example:
Let's assume it earns as much as my highest payout post so far...

  • It earned me 5.979 SBD
  • Let's call it 6 and add the 1 SBD I'm throwing in...
    = 7 SBD in the pot
  • 20 people voted on it
  • Let's assume all 20 completed all 4 steps
    so the pot is divided among them all...
    • That would mean after the contest, I would send each contestant 0.35 SBD (7/20)

Why divide the pot among everyone?

I want to treat everyone as equals.

  • No luck in this contest.
    • Simply follow a few simple steps
      • Share in the pot...

When will you win?

7 days from when I make this post

  • after the payout is made for the post
    • I'm not a robot, so it will take me a bit to confirm contestants and figure out the winnings.

How can you win?

Rules:
To get your share of the dividends, complete these 4 things:

  1. Follow me.
  2. Like this post (so the pot will grow...)
  3. Re-steem this post
  4. Comment 3 things
    1. Done (to let me know you've completed all tasks)
    2. A link to your introductory post
    3. A link to your favorite latest post that you wrote that could be upvoted by myself and others.

Not a requirement, but you should take the time to get to know the people responding to this contest.

  • That's what I'll be doing
    • Reading introductory posts
      • Reading the latest posts by contestants...

Good luck all,
@WizarDave

Wizard256x256.png

ps did you do all 4 steps outlined in the rules above?

If you have any questions, feel free to ask...

Sort:  

Done
Dont know to do links yet
Will do

Thanks @firstjabi2

Just copy and paste...
https://steemit.com/stand/@firstjabi2/rip-reason

Or put the link text inside square brackets and url in parenthesis
like >>> [ <<< link text >>> ] <<< then >>> ( url goes here with no spaces ) <<<

Since you just got on we will count that for you.

If you make anymore posts, you can come back here and either edit your comment, or just reply to your comment, copy and paste your new post.

Congrats to our newest contestant! Contestant #4...

Hi @wizardave, we've already crossed path on Steemit and it is great to see that you already have 100 followers in such a short time. I think this is definitely something that the #newbieresteemday or #newbiegames should do more of and you should submit this contest to @newbiegames to get more people involved: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@newbiegames/i-m-newbie-games-and-i-m-introducing-myself-to-steemit-i-m-here-to-help-you-grow-and-win

Thanks @plushzilla

You can also reach out to the founders of the movement by contacting @mudcat36 or @davemccoy.

How do you contact someone on here? haha I think that proves me a newbie...

All you need to do is put the #newbiegames tag on your post and follow the account @newbiegames. It also helps if you put the #newbieresteemday tag on your post as well.

There are many ways to contact people, many are on Discord and use the same username (I recommend installing Discord so you can use @ginabot to track your Steemit activity), or you can simply go to someone's account and leave a comment under one of their posts.

oh wow I will have to get that app.

  • I've been to Discord on my computer, but don't guess I realized the app has extra, cool features...

I edited the tags on my post...

  • Thanks for your help!!!

Actually, I have never used Discord before joining Steemit because I thought it was primarily a messaging app for people who play online games. But because it is essential set up like a server for messaging you can also write some pretty cool bots like ginabot to do some automation.

I am still keen to try and work on my Steemtopia Network of Learning idea further, but will have to continue building the numbers and get more interest first :)

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

This post has been resteem by @andrea97, follow me for more free resteem.

Adding a bit more "boom" in the pot...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Congratulations i am a biginner too and i hope i will have a lot of followers just like you😀

Thanks @kingzer

  • Will you be entering the contest?
    • Every lil bit of exposure does seem to help.
    • Every lil payout does seem to help.
      • Might as well get your cut of the pie
  • Everyone's a winner...

Hi Amber, Nice to meet you and your family

  • and learn some of your concerns (world hunger!).
    • Looks like you are the first contestant!

emoji thumbs up.jpg
Emoji Source

Thank you! Its my pleasure! Nice to meet you as well :)

Hi Gloria!

  • It looks like you are Contestant #2.
    You get to share in the pot! Congrats.
    • I'm not at all a grammar hound,
      😜 but I think you misspelled SOCCER in your introductory post!
      • That's a joke!!! OK?
        See, we here in America are in the minority
        calling our "football" football and your "football" soccer...😉

CONGRATULATIONS YOUR PUBLICATION HAS BEEN SHARED BY @Untapentuoreja, will be seen by 2745 steemians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61