Three or Four Moments

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1230.jpg

Working with a live wire is similar to being a superhero. As Colossus tells Deadpool, "Four or five moments—that's all it takes to be a hero," or becoming a tinder-ash figure standing with a wire in your hand.

Electricity flows around and through us ever charging our psyches and firing our synapses. However, a 120-volt jolt of sudden electricity will toss you across the room. In the corner, you whimper and think about your near brush with death.

As a child, I shoved the bare wire ends of a 12-volt lamp into a 120-volt outlet. The wires fit into the holes, so why not?

Aside from the pop of the bulb, the smell of an electrical arc splitting oxygen atoms into ozone, and the rapid flight across the room, I learned alternating and direct current are very different.

This was moment four of at least five other moments of learning and results near death. I am surprised I lived to be 54.

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Photo Mine

alt

Day 216: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: Wire by @mariannewest

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Your post content is very good,
I really enjoyed it..

You have only one life
Enjoy it!!!!

You were being a true scientist :)

Hey @wordymouth...I'm standing in for Byn doing prompt delivery today for an hour or so and starting at the top. I'll do as many as I can

Okay. I can help. Want me to take the bottom and work up? Or, take M-Z?

I did the first 14 from the top
Gotta run now
Will check back later see if you're doing ok ;)

Got it. Thanks

I see you're doing fine so I'll call it a night. Cheers!

Thanks for your help (and the reminder!).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55