Photo Contest

in #context6 years ago

I'd like to start off by apologizing for not posting the results sooner. I'd like to thank everyone for participating in my first contest.

In the end no one was successful in naming any of the creatures in the image. In light of this, I am upvoting everyone who posted a guess on the original post. There were some good guess however here is the correct identification for the marine life in the image.

First off this image was shot in Browning Pass off the northeastern tip of Vancouver Island Canada, at a dive site know as Seven Tree Island. These are temperate water that all the marine life live in.

Marine Life-2.jpg

There were some good guess however here is the correct identification for the marine life in the image:

Orange Peel Nudibranch (Tochuina tetraquetra)
Pink Soft Coral (Gersemia rubiformis)
Giant Acorn Barnacles (Balanus nubilus)
Short Plumose Anemones (Metridium farcimen)
Orange Hydroids (Garveia annulata)
Pink Mouth Hydroids (Ectopleura crocea)
White Hydroids (Clava sp.)
Red Seaweed (Fryeella gardneri)
Oregon Triton (Fusitriton oregonensis)
Yellow Sulphur Sponge (Myxilla Iacunosa)
additionally there are several other species of algae and sponges encrusted on the rocks.

Once again I'd like to thank everyone for participating in the contest.

Scott

Sort:  

very colorful and interesting.

Nice contests..so bad I couldn't participate, looked much like fun

nice your post and you are entitled to get an injection upvot
@scottdphoto

Wow this is just so amazing
This is the best picture I have seen today
Keep up the good work @scottdphoto

nice contest,thank you for being so ceative

So beautiful the photo!, I do not stop impressing me with your publications. Huge the great biological diversity in the image, and the colors that embellish the background

Thanks for the upvote on the original post

A wonderful contest and God I wish to participate

You are my role model in photography! So beautiful to the smallest detail. We also have a lot these Orange Peel Nudibranches here in Bali. Sunny greetings

Excellent post!

good photo I'm interested in seeing it is really amazing, thanks for sharing ...... @marzukirizki

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66