Amazingly delicious homemade peanut butter Oreo cookies!

in #cookies6 years ago

20180107_164010.jpg

These soft, gooey cookies are sooo good! I have had a few people tell me that these are the best cookies they've ever had and request them from me. About a year or two ago I found a recipe for these cookies and changed a few things, making my own version and I am very happy with the results! Today I am going to give you the recipe I use and hope that you love them just as much as I do!

First off, ingredient list!

-Cookie mix-

1/3 cup baking cocoa
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup butter, softened
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 large egg

-Filling-

1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 cup creamy peanut butter
3 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup milk

Let's get baking!

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. No need to grease your cookie sheet(s).

  2. In a medium sized bowl, mix together cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and flour using a whisk or fork. Set aside.

  3. In another bowl, (or if you have an electric mixing bowl even better!) cream together softened butter and both sugars. Mix in egg and vanilla until it turns into a smooth texture.

  4. Add your bowl of dry ingredients and mix. For this step, I start my mixer on low so the dry ingredients don't fly everywhere, then high for about a minute. Your mix will still be a bit crumbly, so at this point I use my (clean) hands to mix it all together, dabbing all the excess dry powders with the mixed together dough. There's a photo here to show you what it should look like when totally combined.
    20180107_155209.jpg

  5. Scoop 1-2 tablespoon sized balls and place them on the baking sheet leaving maybe 1-2 inches between them. I usually end up with about 24 balls / cookies which end up making 12 sandwiched Oreos. Bake for 8-9 minutes. I usually lean towards underdone for these because it makes them the more gooey and soft.

  6. While those are cooking, let's make icing/filling! Using a mixer preferably, beat together the softened butter and peanut butter until combined. Add the powdered sugar a cup at a time to avoid a huge cloud of sugary dust. Once you have the sugar in, add the vanilla and the milk. When adding milk, dump in a bit at a time so you get the consistency that you like. Some like the icing thinner or thicker.

  7. When your cookies are cooled, spread the filling on one cookie and place another on top gently pressing the two cookies together. Use as much icing as you want! I like to keep a bit extra on my cookie so it oozes out a bit on the sizes.

  8. Enjoy! The best way to store these would be in a container with a lid. These cookies stay soft for days because of the moisture in the icing. Beware, they're addicting!

If you enjoyed reading, or tried the recipe and liked it please give me an upvote! Feel free to follow for more!

Sort:  

Om nom nom KERKIESSSSS

you're making my sweet tooth trying to get my attention. i'm going have to bake some this week

mmmmmm, they look pretty yummy to me :D

Welcome to steemit and thanks for your first post :) There are lots of people interesting in cooking (and perhaps you might need to include a more generic tag to get their attention). Looking forward to more posts from you and maybe write an introduceyourself post to tell the community more about you :) Let me know if you would like more help.

Thanks for the advice :)

@karenmckersie (who posts cooking related content in @momskitchen) would be someone that you might be interested in. I am a lousy cook so I am not so involved in those topics, but it is always nice to read a recipe that I would like to have a go sometime :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47