DIY | Cashew Flour and Butternut Squash English Muffins

in #cooking6 years ago

DSC_0128 (2).jpg

Fall is in the air my Steemian Friends! I hope you are enjoying your Saturday by spending some time with nature! I’m sure the trees are beginning to turn into a beautiful palate of exquisite color just about now! Sigh…I do miss that.


As I drove around town today there were children playing everywhere. The Orchards are busy this time of year, everyone enjoying Apples, Cider, Pumpkins and an occasional hay ride. Squash and pumpkins are two favorites which are always enjoyed in the Bird household.


We made Maple Butternut Squash Butter the other day and today, I have another recipe utilizing that wonderful butter!

DSC_0094 (2).jpg

But first….we have unfinished business business to take care of


I shared a post last week about making your own Cashew Milk. . If you’ll remember after I made the Cashew milk we had Cashew pulp left over.

DSC_0021 (2).jpg

I hope you saved your pulp!


I have a great recipe to share with you today, and we’ll need that Cashew pulp!
todaysjourney.jpg

Butternut Squash English Muffins


The first thing we will need to do is dry the pulp! Spread your pulp evenly over a parchment lined baking sheet. Try to crumble the pieces into small pieces, they’ll dry faster. Bake at 200 degrees for about 2 hours. Test the pulp to make sure it is dry and crumbly. Place the dry pulp in your favorite blender and process until it is smooth like flour. You’ll find it is very fine and light. And remember, Cashew flour is grain free! Great for those who have gluten intolerance. We’ll use this for today’s recipe!


I used

  • 1/2 cup Cashew flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 6 tablespoons Butternut Squash Butter
  • 2 flax eggs
  • 2 tablespoons Cashew Milk

Note: 1 flax egg = 1 tablespoon flax seed + 3 tablespoons filtered water. Let sit 10 min before using


Mix the Cashew flour and Baking powder together in a bowl, then add the butter, eggs and Milk. Stir well and pour evenly into your muffin tin. Bake at 350 for about 12 minutes. You’ll end up with these cute little English Muffin type muffins! They have a fabulous maple, cinnamon flavor.


DSC_0146 (2).jpg

Now let’s add the BUTTER

Just spoon a little, or a lot of that Maple-icious, yummy butter on one of those warm muffins!

DSC_0121 (2).jpg

Sit back, and enjoy! On, don’t forget your fresh glass of Cashew Milk!


DSC_0030 (2).jpg


I do hope you’ll try these muffins. They take very little time to make so it’s a quick healthy breakfast or snack option. Great for those families on the go! Have a great weekend my friends!


And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Delicious and healthy as always, you are a food genius my friend! Nothing goes to waste either, brilliant!

Thank you my friend...maybe I'm weird but I really love finding ways to utilize, it just doesn't seem right flushing everything down the disposal sometimes :) I appreciate your kindness, you always send a smile to my face!

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Wow, thank you so much @pennsif! I am so honored to have my post shared this week! Thank you :)

You are welcome. My radio show today is all about Food and Steem in case you get a chance to listen in - 8pm - 11pm UTC on MSP Waves.



yum that looks so good and healthy!! cook for me 😭😭😭

Thank you @eaglespirit! I'm glad you liked them...I have to stock up....the kids are comming! :)

forget the kids i need me some 😭😭😭

lol, if only the postal service would cooperate! ;) It would be on they way @eaglespirit! Have a great Monday!

i hope you know i'm joking LOL
i'd never take food from a baby

eagle sneaks off with a muffin an flies away

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 281 (10/14/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99