Healthy Eating | The Baobab and a Smoothie Bowl

in #cooking6 years ago

DSC_0140 (2).jpg

How about a cool, refreshing smoothie bowl for breakfast!

We were planning to take a long hike so I thought that would be an energizing, nutritious breakfast. @mountainjewel loves Mangoes and we had a couple ready to be eaten.

IMG_3354 (2).JPG

And now you ask what does a smoothie have to do with Baobab?

Baobab?


You are probably familiar with the Baobab Tree, adansonian. This is a deciduous tree which is native to Africa, Arabia and Australia. A very large tree which can grow up to 98 feet tall and with a trunk diameter up to 36 feet! That is huge! Notice how small the people are around the tree! Wow!


baobab tree.jpg

pic thanks to pixaby


This tree produces a fruit about the size of a coconut. The shell is soft, kind of furry like velvet. The fruit is tart and some say tastes like sorbet. This fruit contains high levels of Vitamin C, potassium, calcium and iron.

baobabfruit.jpg

pic thanks to pixaby


This fruit is dried as powder and used in smoothies and juices. The health benefits are numerous!

  • Vitamin C- Immunity booster! Also Vitamin C is a slow energy releaser so it promotes sustained energy levels! Great for those workouts and long hikes….we’ll need that today.
  • High Soluble Fiber- Helps maintain level blood sugar levels
  • Iron- did you know about 30% of the population suffer with low iron levels? No wonder we don’t have energy. The iron in Baobab is absorbed easily with the help of Vitamin C.
  • Prebiotics- Help maintain a healthy gut

I could go on and on…Baobab is so beneficial to our health! I thought we would enjoy baobab smoothie today!


Hungry? Come along, lets do this!


I used

  • Mango
  • Frozen Banana
  • Spinach
  • Kiwi
  • Almond Milk
  • Baobab Powder
  • Cacao Nibs
  • Dried Goji Berries

This was fun to make. after peeling and chopping the mangoes I place them in my favorite blender with the frozen bananas, almond milk and baobab powder. After blended pour half in a bowl and place in the freezer for a few minutes…don’t worry, you’ll come back to it.


DSC_0117 (2).jpg


Meanwhile, add spinach and kiwi to the balance of your smoothie, add a few ice cubes and blend.


DSC_0123 (2).jpg


Take the smoothie out of the freezer and pour half of each side by side in a bowl. It’s really easy to do, just kind of tilt he bowl one way to keep it on one side while you then pour the other color in the other side….you get my drift right? Garnish with sliced bananas, kiwi, gojis and of course cacao nibs…


Voila! What a breakfast right? The Birds were happy!


DSC_0126 (2).jpg


We were really ready to go after that, plenty of energy and then some… in fact our hike was so long we missed lunchtime! No worries….I made pizza for dinner lol! I hope you’ll try this and let me know what you think!


So glad you stopped by today!
And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Now this smoothie bowl looks delicious and healthy as always @birdsinparadise! The baobab tree grows here in South Africa but I did not know about getting it in powder form, will be scouting the health store next time.
Is that a rare pic of Mme Oiseau bird spotting there?

hehe, yes my daughter snapped it during our hike...silly girl . Yes, you probably see these amazing trees, are they just amazing to see? I have seen a few in California, they're so beautiful. I bet you can easily find the powder where you live. Glad to see you stopped by, enjoy your Sunday!

Wow that tree is massive! Thanks for sharing the information on the Baobab! I love mangos and especially kiwi...this smoothie looks like a Win Win to me! I loved the way you dressed the bowl with it, it looks very impressive. You can’t go wrong with delicious AND healthy :)

You are so sweet @crosheille, thank you :) Yes, the baobab is massive right? I do enjoy the baobab powder, nice to add more nutrients to our breakfasts. I am so glad you stopped by!

Oh yes you can never go wrong with more nutrients! I always enjoy visiting~ 😊

I was sold for this recipe the moment I saw you mixed spinach and kiwi! The photos are beautifulicious ;0)

It was even better in person! Such a delicious way to start the day., not to mention the artful yin yang presentation. Fueled us well for the hike , thanks.

F64D4D96-EB6D-461A-9F0C-577DD22D8843.jpeg
It fueled all of us quite well!

oh my, who is that amazing photographer!!!!! Glad you loved the smoothie my dears! So glad you're here! ox Cheers to more hiking!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 295 (10/28/18)

Thanks so much @thesteemengine! Really appreciate the feature :)

This really looks yummy! Spinach and kiwi mixed in? I learn something new every day perusing these food columns!

Thank you and it reminds me of having a dessert for breakfast! The best!

Thank you!

Tip!

Thank you so much @dswigle! I appreciate your sweet words as well as Tip! I am so glad you stopped by and enjoyed our breakfast goodie!

Oh, the pleasure was mine!

Healthy, tasty, nutritious and very colorful food that we can order for a breakfast? I love

Greetings friend

Nice to see you my friend! Thanks for the kind words!

What a delicious and nutritious looking smoothie bowl! I will have to look for some baobab powder online, sounds like just the thing I need to incorporate into my diet. Thanks for sharing @birdsinparadise :)

Thanks you @gardeningchef! I was so pleased to find it. The powder has a tart flavor, nice. You'll have to let me know what you think when you try it!

Baobab is amazing! I only just recently discovered it myself, slightly sour taste but super creamy mixed with oats. Your smoothie bowl looks so healthy, nice to see you continuing to create beautiful food!

Oh, that is a great idea...hadn't thought about using it with oats! I appreciate your kind words@celestialcow, good to hear from you!

I've seen the tree before but didn't know about its precious goods - great post with some exciting information! ✨

Isn't it fun? I love finding new nutritious finds like this. So glad to share i t with you all. I think you would like it. If you try it I would love to hear what you think! Thanks for stopping in my friend.

I'd love to, I am a true adventuress when it comes to new foods - unfortunately I will not come by Africa, Australia or any Arabian country soon, but I will put it into my future plans. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85