Wing It Banana Bran MuffinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cooking5 years ago (edited)

To wing it or to follow a recipe, this is the question. When I was growing up in Portland, Oregon in the 1970’s, the fifth of five kids in an under-paid college professor’s motley family, I learned to do both, sometimes at the same time. I remember cooking with my sister @jayna, following the recipe in Sunset’s Favorite Recipes or our mother’s Betty Crocker cookbooks. Cakes and cookies, pancakes and waffles, and a fair number of quick breads. It was a very bready age. But the real fun came in the innovating. For a variety of reasons, cooking for me is usually not an exact science. More an art than a science, and even more than that, an off-road jalopy ride with one tire losing pressure fast and the grill threatening to fall off at any moment.

One reason innovation is a prized cooking strategy of mine is that I grew up in that family. My mom was a homemaker, my dad didn’t make a lot of money and there were five kids. You made do. You learned to substitute. No white flour left? Let’s use all whole wheat flour! Not enough whole wheat? Let’s fill in with oats! No regular oats? Let’s try quick cooking oats! The beauty of this was not only that you learned something about food and how it works, but it was a great opportunity to develop your ability to display grace under fire. The fire came from struggling parents who supported their children’s creative endeavors, but couldn’t help notice their depleted stores after our masterpieces came out of the oven, and from siblings who heard someone was making cookies only to find that the term did not quite describe what was on offer as a result. Grace under fire meant coming up with responses like, “It’s supposed to look like that,” and “It’s healthier that way,” and “Just scrape off the bottom part, use a sharper knife!”

Another reason I value innovation in the kitchen is that I grew up with that mother. My mother was an amazing cook, a wizard who could feed a family of 7 on next to nothing. A common dinner when I was little and we were pretty poor was creamed eggs on toast. Give my mom a half loaf of stale bread, 3 hard boiled eggs, 2 tablespoons flour, 2 tablespoons butter, 3 cups milk, a 25 cent bag of peas and a can of pears and voila! Dinner for 7. Toast on the plate, slices of boiled egg on the toast, creamy béchamel sauce on that, side of peas and pears for dessert. In addition to making a filling meal for pennies, she could also make dinner, and make it well, with whatever was on hand. With no money to go to the store, she got good at it, honing her skills I imagine in the leanest days before pay day, and with never a hint that she was anything but having a ball doing so. I think of her as the original upon which they later based those cooking challenges for nascent chefs on TV. Ready? You have one acorn squash, a half a cantaloupe, a half pound of bacon, a cup of milk, a cup of cornmeal, and a can of kidney beans. Go! She could make dinner out of anything. It seemed that she could make dinner out of nothing but smoke and a few laughs.

I like to think I picked up some of that while getting in her way in the kitchen. I hope so. Early in my cooking career, I know I held recipe-following in low esteem. I had to learn that following a recipe precisely can be a wonderful thing, putting you in touch with the mind and intention of the cook who crafted it in the same way that reading fine literature puts you in touch with the mind of the author. But with that lesson under my belt, I still defend my right to innovate, sometimes wildly, using recipes as a springboard from which I bounce with happy abandon.

Here is an offering for you loosely based on the banana bread recipe on the back of the Kellogg’s All-Bran cereal box. Just about everything here is a substitution except the All-Bran, the bananas and the leavening. I made these this morning and believe they are the best bran muffins I have ever made. They are low gluten and get their sweetness from sources other than white sugar. If you make them, feel free to make innovations of your own.

Wing It Banana Bran Muffins

Makes 36 muffins
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
Prepare muffin tins by adding muffin papers or spreading coconut oil in each cup
1 cup Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking and Pancake Mix
½ cup Almond flour
½ cup Bob’s Red Mill Oat Bran hot cereal, dry
2 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Baking Soda
½ tsp salt
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 cup chopped walnuts
2 cups All-Bran cereal
2 cups mashed ripe banana
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
¼ cup shredded sweet potato (or use carrot)
1 cup Ricotta cheese
½ cup date syrup (or use honey)

3/4 cup + unsweetened applesauce (or as much as needed to make the final mix moist)
½ cup + coconut oil softened (plus enough to oil muffin cups if you choose)
Instructions

  • Whisk eggs until mixed. Add mashed bananas and vanilla.
  • Add All-Bran cereal and sweet potato. Stir well. Set aside at least 5 min while cereal softens.
  • In a separate bowl, combine the remaining dry ingredients (almond flour, oat bran, baking mix, baking powder, baking soda, salt, walnuts, turmeric, cinnamon and nutmeg). Mix well and set aside.
  • In a third bowl (sorry) combine coconut oil and date syrup. Mix well.
  • To the All-Bran bowl, add the Ricotta cheese, ¾ cup of applesauce, and the oil and syrup mixture. Mix well.
  • Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture. Mix well. If the final mixture doesn’t seem moist enough, you can add more applesauce.
  • Spoon final mixture into the muffin cups, spreading evenly into the 36 cups.
  • Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes
  • Serve warm from the oven!

IMG_1661.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #424!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


Check our website for the more information about our #newsteem attitude. Join our Discord channel to be part of our community


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

Oh, I laughed and cried and laughed some more while reading this. You described our childhood so well! And I feel really grateful that at this point in my life I have come to a better appreciation of that "make do" environment we grew up in, and our mother's penchant for cutting off the moldy end of the cheese, right before our eyes, and serving it up.

Those were tough times indeed, and I had a very different view of things then, and a very special disdain for pears as dessert fare. Not only did I look upon their palid, gelatinous appearance on a plate and find myself instantly reminded of hard labor -- how we had to go pick our fruits and vegetables in heat and cold, through mud and cobwebs, and then also help process them, which seemed to me to be pure torture, as a child -- but also it was not at all what I craved in a dessert item. I wanted cookies and ice cream and cake and chocolate!

But today, I'm thankful. Not only for the ability to throw together odd concoctions from whatever I have around the house and call the end result "dinner" (and have people actually enjoy it and proclaim it delicious), but I've also truly come to appreciate the resilience and ingenuity we developed from growing up poor as church mice with a mother who could make creamed eggs on toast seem like a special treat.

I'm honestly surprised we didn't have chickens, aren't you?

Your recipe looks fabulous. I'm excited to try it!

ducksaplenty(50) Very wonderful and useful recipe. Just do not get too carried away by the rippers, I try to replace them. I quench the soda with apple cider vinegar.

Sounds familiar, for sure

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Too true. It wasn’t a can of pears it was a jar, that we had helped can. For my part, I’m surprised we didn’t harvest the peas as well! Here’s to gratitude! Here’s to innovation! And here’s to pears, which I actually love.

Congratulations @ducksaplenty! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86