Cooking - one of my BESTies

in #cooking5 years ago (edited)

I am passing a really unusual and strange time of my life. I feel like jumping around from one thing to another, both professional and personal. This is why few days ago I was writing about lactation and today about cooking :) Please consider this a short notice in advance :)

This post is not about my dilemmas and I will write about one thing I am really a BESTie (so my kids, my husband and most of my friends say) and that's the food I love to cook.

So, today I prepared a Romanian Dobrogean salty cheese pie. This is not a normal pie! It is done in a special way with specific instruments. I learned to do it as a kid from my grandmother just by watching her doing it and listening her instructions. She allowed me to do it for the first time when I was 17 years old.

The whole idea is to roll a small amount of dough with the 1M long thin stick you can see in this picture so at the end the piece of pie has a round shape of 60-70 cm diameter and it is thin as a piece of paper.
4-Romanian cheese pie_1.JPG
Believe me, it is not easy at all and you can learn to do it just as my grandmother wanted, by watching and dozens of times with patience and trust.

In the end, this pie has a crunchy texture because of the small quantity of dough and plenty of filling: cheese, apple and cinnamon, quince or pumpkin. And the smell is sublime.
Now I will let you with this yummmy post and I will go back in the kitchen to cut the pie in small pieces before the kids enter the house.

See you soon with I don't know which topic.

4-Romanian cheese pie_2.JPG

Sort:  

Yummy ...

I like any combination of apples, cinnamon and dough, so I probably won't have the patience to learn till the pastry is perfect.

I totally understand you :)

Yummm... fatten me up why don’t ya !! 🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84