Cooking Up Some Fried Masa Cakes with CHEESE!

in #cooking5 years ago

Fresh off the cornbread attempt I posted about the other day, I decided to try my hand at some other recipes. I managed to find this recipe for Fried Masa Cakes with Cheese, which seemed like it might be fun to try. I also happened to have some cheese pre-grated on hand, so it worked out.

It starts with cooking up some milk. I used 2 1/2 cups almond milk, since I pretty much never have real milk on hand, being lactose intolerant. Almond milk tends to cook a lot better than soy, which has a tendency to separate and "curdle".

20181027_215959_noexif.jpg

I cheated and ended up stirring in the butter while it cooked, which is contrary to the recipe, but I figured it didn't really matter, and it made it easier to stir in, since it was still getting pretty hot.

Unfortunately I seem to have lost the image of this. Probably while sorting images from my last post. There was some kind of error while moving pictures, and it said a few didn't exist. Not like a picture of melted butter in milk is all that great. If I had a vid of it though, that's disappointing, as I rather like including gifs.

Next I put 1 1/2 cups masa flour, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1 tablespoon sugar (raw cane sugar) in my mixer, along with 1 cup grated "mozzarella". I put it in quotes, because I don't actually think the type of cheese matter that much. It will just have a somewhat different taste.

20181027_221316_noexif.jpg

I seem to have lost quite a few files for this post, as I don't even seem to have any pictures of the dough, or the mixing, which is most unfortunate.

It's a pretty easy recipe though, so you're not missing much. After pouring the hot milk into the mixer and letting it mix it up thoroughly, I put them in my iron skillet, and put on a lid that kind of fits over the top. I made sure that I started the mixer before putting in the milk, so the cheese was mixed in with the other dry ingredients.

20181027_224438_noexif.jpg

I didn't measure them out and put them in perfect little balls or anything, because I'm a lazy sod, and I don't need perfectly sized heart attack corn cheese cakes.

They didn't look that great after the first flip.

20181027_225238_HDR_noexif.jpg

They looked a lot better after cooking a bit longer though!

20181027_230000_noexif.jpg

I think I ended up flipping them 3 times in total, so they cooked twice a bit on either side. They were pretty thick, so I wanted to make sure they cooked thoroughly.

They ended up being pretty good! But they're a lot richer food than I'm used to. I think I might try them with potato and cheese instead, and no milk, just water.

I also had quite a few extra for the next day!

I think corn type cakes are actually really good, and more should try them. Normal pancakes are a bit too popular in the US. Would be nice if we had potato or corn "pancakes" occasionally to mix things up.

Sort:  

Those look a little bit like Colombian arepas. Speaking of which, you might want to try those. They're pretty tasty.

By the way, "masa" basically translates to "dough" in Spanish. For example: masa de hojaldre is "puff pastry dough" and masa quebrada would be more or less "pie crust dough."

So basically the fact that it's advertised as masa is a bit of a misnomer, since it's flour, not dough?

Well, I guess powdered milk is still milk.. lol

Looks good!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've never heard of masa but that looks somewhat like a pancake!

Yeah...it's something like a corn cheese pancake.

Masa is ground down corn. It's used for flour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85