Creating my birthday cake

in #cooking6 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

After some long time away from Steemit, I’m finally back! My career and life in general have kept me busy, but last week was my birthday and I did something I wanted to share with you. It’s a bit of a self-indulging post more than a recipe one, but I’ll show you anyway.

I’m not, by any means, a professional baker and sadly I didn’t take pictures of the full step by step because I was too excited. Yet, you can see it taking form right in front of you guys.

I, like lots of people, have been marveled by some absolutely gorgeous “numbers birthdays cakes” that have been floating around in pinterest and Instagram. So with help of my mom and mostly candies we had in the house, we did our own version of it.

This last year was full of surprises for me, good ones and bad ones, but it was a rollercoster in all its letters. I’m grateful for all that I learned, being Steemit one the most welcomed additions to my life.

So here you have, hope you like it!

Birthday cake

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

So, initially, these were 2 different circular cakes. I did the outline of the numbers 2 and 3 in a paper sheet and later, we put them above the cakes to cut them with a knife. Usually, these cakes are actually made of cookies, but we decided to use cake instead this time.

After that, we started with the decorations, meringue for the frosting (with a bit of chocolate), colored marshmallows, rainbow sprinkles and some fresh and clean flowers.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

We added more flowers later, trying to find ones with colors that were fitting for the cake. It was necessary because at the beginning it was looking excessively pale. To finish it, we cut some strawberries and put them too.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Since the cakes were circular and we cut them, there was a lot of cake left (We had two of these bowls full). So we did chocolate truffles with them, mixed with condensed milk and rainbow sprinkles.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Here’s a picture of how everything looked at the end, with a plus of me being happy about it. And that’s all folks! Did you like it? Have you ever try it? Let me know in the comments bellow.

© 2018, Hayleen García. All material is mine unless otherwise stated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56