My Lockdown Meal Recipe: Organic and Authentic Pan Cooked Finger Millet Bread.

in #cooking4 years ago (edited)


videos/22c43ab1b32c7b13862a28c6edc2b570-00001.png


I made this finger-millet bread few days ago while staying at home during this lockdown time. As everyone else I was very much bored staying at home and pretty-uch monotonous eating same kind of food every time, so white searching inside my kitchen room I found some leftover millet flour. I cannot tell in words how much happy I was when I found some millet flour because as I already write above this kind of millet bread is my favorite homemade food. And even tastes better when I cook it myself.

IMG_20200518_155028-01.jpeg

The bread is now cooked pretty well and ready to serve

How do we cook it??

This is one of the authentic food in the country, and more authentic way to cook millet bread is different from how I am cooking here. They make a dough mixing millet and water and other extra ingredients like sugar or salt for extra flavor and taste. Then spread the millet dough on a banana or Sal tree leaves, wrap it with another leave completely and put it inside charcoal or wood-fire. I tried this method once long time ago, and believe me the taste of the bread is different and natural and adds some pleasant aroma of leaves and charcoal.

But unfortunately, nobody cook like this traditional method these days. In fact the millet itself has become a rare and forgotten grain around here. And I think very few of people still eat it. People prefer awesome looking foods rather than healthy these days and finger-millet doesn't look awesome when cooking due to it's color.

IMG_20200518_153342-01.jpeg

So how am I going to cook it??

If you have watched the video above you might have already have an idea. Because this recipe I follow is very simple and make delicious bread from millet flour. I made the video vary short but I think I have included every steps there. And here also I am going to write them in points so that it'll be easy to read and understand.

Ingredients that we need:

  1. Millet flour
  2. Warm Water(or milk for mixing the flour)
  3. Egg
  4. Ghee
  5. Sugar(Optional, depends on your taste)
    And a pan to road the bread.

Preparing the mix:

Put the desired amount of flour in a mixing pot. Now put some water or milk whatever you prefer on the same pot. Put a or two eggs on the same pot and mix them well. You can put some sugar if you need more sweet but personally I don't prefer adding extra sugar. The important step I think is preparing the mix paste because the thickness of the paste matters the most to get the best product. Try to make mix as liquid as I have shown in the video and it's ready to be roasted(cook).

Cooking the bread:

Heat the fry pan in the gas stove, when it is well heated put some ghee on it and spread it well.
Now put the mix on the pan with the help of Ladle or something like that, starting from one of the edge of the pan and pouring it in round fashion. This way the same amount of mix will be spread all over and you will avoid thick center on the bread. I have shown this in the video too. Now you can cover with the help of a plate. Wait for a minute or so and reverse the side of the bread and cook again for a minute or so.

IMG_20200518_152652-01.jpeg

IMG_20200518_154628-01.jpeg

Now take out the bread and serve on a plate.

IMG_20200518_153402-01.jpeg

I prefer eating with curd/yogurt or some pickles.

IMG_20200518_155019-01.jpeg

Enjoy Your Food


Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62799.08
ETH 3027.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95