Avocado bombs for breakfast!

in #cooking6 years ago

My cousin shared this idea on her farcebook for what's called avocado bombs. She always shares tempting food posts, and this one happened to be shared while the wife was away. She would never be down for making such a thing, she hates avocados.

Ingredients


1 Avocado
4 bacon strips
1/3 pound of sausage
1 slice of cheese

IMG_20180610_101919910.jpg

Step 1. Halve the avocado, remove the seed, and take off the skin
Step 2. Fill the seed hole with cheese. I used half a slice of cheddar and gave the other half slice to the baby.
Step 3. Make the Sausage into a layer and wrap it around the avocado. It'll look like this:

IMG_20180610_102552861.jpg

Step 4. Wrap in bacon.
Step 5. Cook it, boi!!!

The original video showed it being cooked on a grill. That is the way I recommend to do it. I cooked it on the stovetop, and it was difficult with the direct heat. I had to take it off and recook a little while because I didn't get it cooked through.

IMG_20180610_110138406.jpg

It came apart when I cut it open. My avocado came out of one side. But you get the idea. This is the best thing I've eaten in a while.

Cost:
Avocado: $0.68
Bacon: $0.89 ($3.54 for the entire package. Used 4 of 16 slices.)
Sausage: $1.17 ($3.50 for the entire roll, used about 1/3)
Cheese: $0.30 (one of twelve slices in a package that costs about $3.50)
Total: $3.04 ($11.22 if you have to buy full packs from the grocery store like I did. Good thing I bought more avocados!)

Not bad!

About the payout of a pretty good steem post!

I'm definitely gonna make this at my next get-together/cookout!

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

If you leave out the avocado than it could be great 😂

aaahahahha

I liked it! I'm not the healthiest person, so I do often do that. But green shit sounded super good today. It's gonna sound good more often now that I know I can do things like this with it. What's next? IDK. Maybe I'll try grass.

I do eat grass but I do call ik salad!
Me neither for sure not the healthiest person in the world!

I only eat salad before a steak 😂😂😂

Actually not true, but it sounds good lol

We just got some avocadoes from the farmer's market here. Gonna have to try this

Today's attempt. For science. Use lower heat. Outside a bit too done, inside of sausage a bit not enough done. Needed extra cook time that pushed the outer layer into not-awesomeness. Less heat, more time.

IMG_20180611_093644014.jpg

Not bad, it's like a filling burger!

Yes!

I made another one on the grill the next day to test that, and I had the heat too high. It cooked through better, but much of the bacon was burned. So far I've not found the perfect heat to cook it on. More testing (and eating) is necessary.

I can imagine the problem of controlling the heat, more testing it is!!

Damn that looks good, I'm gonna have to show this to my woman. Thank you and thank your cousin!

eso se ve genial, yo como aguacate todos los días.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13