A Busy Day In Phoenix Land

in #cooking6 years ago

I am worn out, but I got a lot done for me! First, I did some cleaning. Then, I decided to make taco seasoning, which had been on my to do list forever:

taco seasoning 1.jpg

Then I decided to get to work on tomorrow's lunch. Tomorrow's lunch? Yep. Because when I make a thing, it can be a bit of a project. I make ingredients, and then I make the thing. Such is cooking from scratch with allergies.

So, I took some chicken down to defrost. Then I made enchilada sauce:

enchilada sauce.jpg

It has a lot of the same spices in it as taco seasoning, so it was easy enough to do next. Then I realized I needed beans and cheese, so I went to Sprouts again:

IMG_20180908_144629.jpg
IMG_20180908_144638.jpg

Then, I made rice:

IMG_20180908_173551.jpg

Then, I made tortillas!

IMG_20180908_173658.jpg

Side note, it makes me disproportionately happy that I need a seam ripper to open my new bag of flour. Yay cloth flour bags!

IMG_20180908_160111.jpg

And no, I didn't get dry beans from the bulk section and cook those next. I got an aseptic carton of refried black beans (the only beans I'm not allergic to!) because I was already doing enough prep. ;)

So, any guesses what I'm making for lunch tomorrow? It's not enchiladas. I'll give you a hint:

But for now, it's time for bed. Goodnight everybody! ^_^

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

Use Presearch for all your internet searching, including on specific websites, choose your search engine, earn free crypto: https://presearch.org/signup?rid=480866

Buy a Druid a Coffee (or the kittehs some noms, more likely): http://ko-fi.com/phoenixwren

photostudio_1518154776752.jpg

Sort:  

I really miss Mexican food! It's not one of the easier countries foods to find in Asia, at least not if you want GOOD Mexican food. I will have to seek some out on of these days though.

You can make it a project and do it from scratch like me! LOL ;)

Homemade flour tortillas for the win!!!!

Nom nom nom! :)

I am so happy I found someone else who makes almost all their food from scratch. I started doing it when the kids were small because they had so many allergies, then because I was eating the same food as them I cured my food allergies! Win-win!

Nice!! That's a thing, to avoid allergens for so long,sometimes you can get a tolerance back. I hope that happens for me!

They say your body changes every 7 years, so it may be possible that you lose some of your allergies.

Oooh! That sounds delicious! 🤩🌯🌯

Posted using Partiko Android

Hopefully it will be! It's my first time making them from scratch. I miss chimichangas - all the frozen ones have allergens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99