My Main Cooking Tips

in #cooking6 years ago

I’m no professional chef, but I’ve been cooking for myself and my loved ones for a very long time. Along the way I have picked up some tips and tricks to make my dishes stand out. These four tips have been the most helpful in taking my dishes to a higher level:

Avocado, Chopping Board, Cooking, Eggs

Use Broth Instead of Water
To make dishes like couscous, rice, or quinoa really pop, I replace the water in the instructions with vegetable broth. It adds an extra layer of flavor to any dish, and is a simple, cheap way to improve a meal.

Use the Most Fresh/Highest Quality Ingredients Possible
If you are starting with delicious, fresh ingredients to begin with, you won’t have to work hard to make a flavorful dish, the flavor will be there from the beginning. It also makes a big difference in a dish when you use fresh onion versus an onion powder.

Don’t Crowd the Pan
It can be tempting to save yourself from having to wash an additional dish, but it is important to make sure there is enough room for your ingredients to properly cook. For instance, if you are trying to brown some veggies in a full skillet, they will steam instead with too close proximity to each other.

Don’t Be Afraid of Acid
What I mean by this is that if a dish is lacking in flavor, it can be balanced out by adding an acidic component to a dish, such as a squeeze of fresh lemon or a splash of apple cider vinegar.

Sort:  

Thanks for the dish it is very usable for cooking lovers.

Hi @pinkspectre thanks for the additional info! I also prefer using broth when I'm cooking because it brings additional flavor to the dish.

👏

I didn’t know that crowding the pan has a steaming effect on the food, it makes total sense. I also love this photo!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

love the pic!

So you mean this is just an idea, right?

Excelentes consejos para los que queremos iniciarnos en este arte de la cocina.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71