Green Asparagus & Dandelion Phyllo Rolls 🌿🌿🌿

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

When I saw this incredibly delicious looking asparagus in my zero waste shop the other day I needed to buy it instantly. While waiting for the lady to weigh the asparagus, the phyllo dough that was already in our fridge waiting for its mission, came to my mind ... Plus the was some soy tard cheese also. The idea for our next delicious very vernal dinner was born...

I also bought some ramson, a bunch of dandelion leaves, some blueberries. The rest of the ingredients joint the dish accidentally ... 😉 

Ingredients:

  • green asparagus 
  • dandelion leaves
  • phyllo dough
  • unsweetened soyghurt and soy curd cheese (or another plant joghurt with a very neutral taste)
  • ramson
  • fresh thyme and fresh savory 
  • fresh blueberries
  • half of an apple
  • fresh lemon juice
  • nutritional yeast
  • apple cider vinegar 
  • salt and pepper

Preparation:

For a nice green and hearty salad I chopped the leaves of the dandelion in bite-sized pieces. I washed the blueberries and chopped the apples in small pieces. I mixed a salad sauce from soyghurt, fresh lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, some chopped ramson and salt and pepper. I mixed the sauce with the leaves and the fruits and let it  stand to allow the aromas to blend well. I hoped the fruits would cut off the tartness of the dandelion leaves a bit.

For the dip I mixed the most part of the chopped ramson, a lot of thyme leaves and some savory with the soy curd cheese, some olive oil, lemon juice, nutritional yeast and salt and pepper.

To make sure that the asparagus would be nice and tender I blanched them for a very few minutes boiling water with a teaspoon of salt and sugar each. I didn't do that but I recommend to do the same with the dandelion stems to make them a tiny bit softer too.

I wrapped the drained asparagus and the dandelion stems into the phyllo dough that I cut in stripes before. While prearing piece by piece I always covered the rest of the dough with a moist kitchen towel because the extremely thin phyllo sheets dry out very quickly. When dry they break and it's impossible to roll them up.

I fried the rolls in hot high olaic olive oil from every side until crispy and nice and golden brown. While frying the next batch of rolls I left the ready rolls in the on low heat preheated oven to keep them warm and crispy.

I served them with the dip and the very delicious and not so tart as I expected. The fruits made gave it a sweet and tender touch. A good way to reduce the bitterness of these leaves is to let them soak for two or three hours in salt water. I also do this sometimes with endives and batavia lettuce.

We really enjoyed this fresh and green dish and I was surprised that all the salad was gone at the end of the meal.

I hope this was a good inspiration for some of you! Have a wonderful day! ☀️ 

Sort:  

Is it so tasty. I never eat this. Because in our country it is not cultivated. Not found. I like to eat this.

Thank you! Maybe you can try something similar with vegetables that are available where you live. I assume it would be delicious with many other ingredients. Tell and show me when you tried it out! 😊

Yes you are right. It looks tasty. I got it has so benefits. Thanks for share.

This is looking very nice. I would love to taste it as i like the fresh ingredients that you have been using. Than you for your passionated work.

You are very welcome! I am happy that you like it! You are right, I love to cook and experiment with new ingredients and combinations.

Asparagus ........ you can say that agian......Do you know asparagus is a good source of Pantothenic Acid, Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc and Selenium, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Protein, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol), Vitamin K, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Iron, Phosphorus, Potassium, Copper and Manganese. What healthy choice!!!

Hehehe! Thank you! I knew you would pop up and deliver all these interesting and important facts about the health benefits of asparagus ... 😃 😁 😜 ... So I saved my time and my work to investigate all that! 🤓 Thank you again! 😘

Oh my god...this is the most inventive and delicious recipe I have seen on Steemit !! Bookmarking and resteeming. Everyone wraps it in bacon.. this is far more inventive!

What the heck is bacon? 😜 😄
Thank you so much for your huge compliment!

I know right... bacon!!!!

That sounds delicious! Adding asparagus to the grocery list.

Do that! Enjoy asparagus season! 😋

That's a good looking an really healthy meal. I would love one serving right away!

I'd love to send you some but all is gone already. ☹️ Next time?! 😃
Thank you @erikah! 🌿

Deal! I have to be faster, it seems 😀😘

Hehe! Looks like! 😉

Oooh yummy! That looks amazing @pustblume... tasty and nutritious, what more could we want. I can just imagine the flavours of the sauce with the veggies, and the crisp of the pastry... boy oh boy... If only you could post some to me ... ;-)

Hehehe! Maybe one day this is possible! Maybe new inventions paid by cryptocurrency makes it possible in the future! 😃 😜

looks indeed very inventive, I like it!

Thank you very much! So kind of you!

Hi, sieht gut aus und ich werde es mal ausprobieren und nachkochen. Ich stelle es mir gut knusprig vor. Allerdings werde ich weißen Spargel nehmen und zwischen Spargel und Teig passt sich noch eine Scheibe schwarzwälder Schicken.

DANKE für die Inspiration
Gruß
Viktor

Gerne! Weißer Spargel passt mit Sicherheit auch sehr gut! Nur was den Schinken betrifft, da habe ich so meine Zweifel ... 😜 Nee, echt jetzt! Der Geschmack von Spargel - speziell dem weißen ist so zart - in Kombination mit solchen dominanten Komponenten, wie Schinken geht der meiner Meinung nach ungewürdigt unter. Probier doch mal beide Optionen - ohne und mit. 😉

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87