Odd Bits Cooking | Savoury Bread Pudding

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Odds and ends, bits and pieces; what do you normally do with them?

It’s one of those days when I have stale bread and I was thinking, why not make bread pudding? Speaking of bread pudding, the sweet type will most likely come to mind, the kind that is usually served as a dessert. Well, I’ll be making a savoury one because there are ends and pieces of vegetables lying around in my fridge too. Waste not, want not, right? So, here we go - savoury bread pudding it is!

While we get the prepping done, let’s preheat the oven at 180°C.
. . .
. .
.

Lightly grease a baking dish using butter or oil.

Cut bread into quarters. Scatter them around the dish.

Sprinkle chopped cocktail sausages (bacon or ham is equally delicious - fry until crisp before adding them).

Layer diced vegetables.

Tear a slice of cheddar cheese on top of the vegetables.


[optional] Cut a mini Babybel cheese into cubes. Tuck in between the vegetables.

Prepare egg and milk mixture, then pour right over.

Place dish into the oven and bake for 30 minutes.

14(a)_rt.jpeg

Veggie medley is ready to be served!

Note:

Vegetables

This preparation is so versatile, you can practically use any vegetable that you have and dump everything right in.

My savoury bread pudding contains carrot, yellow bell pepper, yellow cherry tomatoes, regular tomatoes and broccoli.

Egg and Milk Mixture

Crack egg into milk.
Add grated cheddar cheese.
Season with salt and pepper.
Whisk until smooth.

14(b)_rt.jpeg

A basic bread pudding recipe will use A LOT of eggs. As for me, I used only one (because that’s all I had left). 😆 Given the (limited) amount of ingredients I have, the egg and milk mixture is just about enough to cover everything.

Though not as custardy as a regular bread pudding, mine still tastes pretty good. Parts that are thinly covered by the mixture are eggy and coupled with the crusty sides; I thought I was having pizza at times.

And because there are cubes of Babybel cheese that snugged comfortably among the vegetables, the sudden burst of flavour makes a delightful surprise.


How do you make your bread pudding, be it sweet or savoury? Do you have a recipe that is uniquely yours? Share with me in the comments below.

Sort:  

I absolutely love vegetables! Your recipe sounds like a savory and decadent way to cook miscellaneous vegetables.

^^ I'm glad I found your food focused blog today! Thanks for sharing with #dailyfoodphotography

Greatly appreciate that you dropped by and discovering my page @mininthecity. 💗

I am giving you a follow too because you're a fellow foodie at heart and a biking enthusiast. How I wish I am based in Minneapolis, so that I can join you on all your biking adventures!

Keep up the good work and more delish food compilations coming!

Congratulations @redtomato! This post is featured in the dailyfoodphotography Weekly Winners and Top Ten Compilation. Visit to see your featured photograph and more delicious entries. If you don't want to click the link, visit my blog @mininthecity

Thanks for your participation and please comment on the post if you enjoy it :)

Muchas gracias again for the mention! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89