🥂🍗🍾Kitchen Experiments #6: Healthy Jambalaya! RECIPE WITH PICTURES!

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

Healthy Jambalaya with Turkey Sausage, Chicken, and Quinoa

According to Wikipedia, Jambalaya is:

 Louisiana origin dish of Spanish and French influence, consisting mainly of meat and vegetables mixed with rice. Traditionally, the meat always includes sausage of some sort, often a smoked sausage such as andouille, along with some other meat or seafood, frequently pork, chicken, crawfish, or shrimp. 

  

Tonight was a true kitchen experiment. I looked inside my fridge and saw a pack of Turkey sausage, a pack of chicken thighs, and some quinoa. I had no clue what to make. So I thought Turkey sausage..... chicken..... jambalaya! 

 Traditional jambalaya is made with andouille sausage and white rice. By substituting my healthy version with Turkey sausage and Quinoa, I am cutting calories and adding healthy grains to this dish. I didn't have the other ingredients needed for a true jambalaya, like celery, tomato paste, hot sauce, oregano,  or canned diced tomatoes but I improvised and did the best with the ingredients I had... like Iron chef.  LOL.😉

  

 Here are the ingredients I had to work with: 


  • * 3 Turkey Sausage links
  • * 1 pound chicken (I used dark meat) 
  • * 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • * 1/2 medium onion,  diced
  • * 5 cloves garlic (I LOVE garlic) 
  • * 1 red bell pepper
  • * 3 ripe roma tomatoes
  • * 2 Tbs olive oil
  • * Cajun seasoning to taste
  • * 1/2 tbs paprika (not pictured) 
  • * garlic powder to taste
  • * salt and pepper to taste

Heat 1 tbs of olive oil in a skillet on medium heat. Brown chicken and Turkey sausage in skillet, about 10 minutes. 

 After 10 minutes add mushrooms. Turn heat to low.

Add thyme (leaves only) and discard the stick part of the sprig. About 5 sprigs or to taste. 

 

In a separate skillet sautee your onions and garlic until onions are translucent.

Then add red bell peppers

Cook for about 5 minutes then transfer the onion/pepper mixture into the sausage/ chicken mixture. 

Add the tomatoes to this mixture. 

Mix all the ingredients together

Add all spices to taste.  If you like a more spicy dish add more Cajun seasoning. 

If you have excessive liquid in your dish, drain some out but leave a nice amount of liquid broth in your dish. Add quinoa.

Turn off the heat and finish the dish with a squeeze of lemon or lime. 

Serve in a bowl and enjoy!!

  


Taken with Samsung Galaxy s8+


All content is original and all photography is mine. 


**If you enjoyed this post please upvote, resteem, and of course follow me for future posts. Keep on steeming!** 😉


👇👇👇👇👇👇

Sort:  

I'm often trying to figure out what dishes I can make with whatever is at home so this is really inspirational! Love that you've replaced white rice with quinoa...how would you say this compared in terms of taste to a real jambalaya ?? Looking forward to more posts...from a fellow foodie @phamished :)

Mmmmm, your recipe posts always look so delicious! I must try this one.

Thank you so much! Delicious and Healthy! Lol.

Haha. I'm gonna make this one soon. Pero why am I always seeing foods right now? 😅 It makes me crave more foods.

Anyway, it looks very delicious @rina.tours.world hehe

Thank you beautiful! I know about seeing food on here. I get inspired to cook in my kitchen after seeing all these yummy posts!

Wowww. You're just like my mom! Hehe, she loves to cook every time she got inspired from other videos haha. Keep it up @rina.tours.world!

This is such a healthy twist on an amazing dish! I can't wait to try this- and I know my kids will love it too! Yumm! (I might add shrimp!)

I have to admit i didn't know how it was going to turn out because i didn't have all the ingredients BUT it turned out pretty yummy! AND guilt free!

Congratulations @rina.tours.world! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Looks delicious, kagutom. :)

Ang Sarap! Lol. And healthier than alternative!

Thanks for the recipe! It looks delicious.

do you hire people to taste food? if there is an opening then let me know my resume is ready ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77