I post food pics on Instagram and I'm not ashamed to admit it!

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

It's been 7 hours since I last posted a food pic on Instagram. I admit, I used to post several times a day and then I finally took a break. Even when I was on that break, I was still taking pictures of my food, just not posting it on social media. I've been too busy and also trying to focus on other things lately but I miss cooking.

aquaman56.gif
IG: devour_detroit

Years ago, I was a terrible cook so terrible, that the husband would warn people not to eat my cooking. He wasn't joking, I was BAAAADDDDDDDDD...then I joined Instagram. I looked at all the creative dishes, and started with some simple dishes that didn't require cooking. My first success was strawberry garlic scape salsa. I tried the garlic scapes at the Ann Arbor farmers market one nice and instantly became hooked. I was determined to learn how to make delicious food with my newfound love of garlic scapes. Now, the husband admits he'd rather eat the food I make than go out somewhere.

20181020_230015.jpg

strawberry garlic scape salsa

Here's some of the dishes I've made over the years.

20181020_230751.jpg

Salmon head sinigang. Sinigang normally has a tamarind base soup, but I used rhubarb and sorrel for the tartness as they were in season at the market.

20181020_230722.jpg

20181020_230702.jpg

Venison dumplings with wild ramps topped with chili garlic. Nothing beats fresh ingredients.

20181020_230643.jpg

For National Peanut Butter + Jelly Day one year, I made a kare kare sandwich with a bagoong jam topped with grilled eggplant and baby bok choy.

20181020_230813.jpg

Spam fries! I don't understand why Spam gets so much hate. Some people just don't understand how tasty it actually is. I fried the Spam with some French Fries and topped with kewpie mayo, sriracha mayo, green onions, garlic scapes, and cheese. I try not to make Spam too often since it isn't the healthiest and the fam would eat it all the time.

20181020_230837.jpg

It's become an annual Christmas time tradition to have a Kamayan feast at my house. I get some help from friends with this and we always have more than enough food.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sorceresssupreme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73