I just made some really good roasted vegetables!

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

In the joy of finally having an oven again I decided I would start off with some roasted vegetables. Easy to do and goes with everything, so a nice batch can last for a couple of days and make it easy for myself during the week.

The market is five minutes away and this is one of the great things of living in Paris, the food markets. Great produce directly from the farmer. I like everything about this, you won't see me buying vegetables at the supermarket. Its also a fun social event, really adds charm to life. So, I decided to add a few more veggies and fresh herbs and get going!

I chopped up the vegetables into chunks:

One red pepper
One zucchini
Quarter of celery root
Two large potatoes
Three large carrots
One large eggplant
One red onion

IMG_5739.JPG

The best strategy would probably be to add them to a big bowl, as that would make it easier coating them with the oil blend, but I just added them straight to the cooking tray. The tray was honestly a little on the full side, if you want to be sure you get crispy vegetables, its better to have a less full tray.

Then I made the sauce. I used

Half a cup of olive oil
A couple of table spoons of balsamic vinegar
One big spoon of grained mustard
Five cloves of chopped garlic
Salt and pepper
Fresh thyme

IMG_5741.JPG

Then I chopped some of the fresh herbs I got from the market and spread over the vegetables. Fresh coriander and thyme, parsley, a few leaves of sage and some rosemary too. I do love fresh herbs so much and believe they should be used generously for flavour and health!

IMG_5740.JPG

I poured the sure over the vegetables and used my hands to blend it all well, and I added a bit more sea salt as well. Another ingredient that really helped it become incredible, was some fat that was left over from some lamb chops that were cooked earlier in the week. I added to-three spoonfuls to the mix.

IMG_5742.JPG

I set the oven to quite high, 230°C and it cooked for about 40 minutes. I took them out after around 30 minutes turned everything over to prevent it from burning on the top. Then it was done and it tasted so good! After two days there is hardly any left and I plan to do a new batch tomorrow. Love healthy and tasty food that is easy to make.
IMG_5744.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73