Weaselhouse Cooks: Leftovers Breakfast Wrap

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

I've been sick with the flu over the past few days and haven't been out shopping. Working with what I had available, I was still able to come up with a delicious and healthy breakfast wrap in less than 10 minutes.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. This isn't just a parroted saying repeated by nutritionists for decades, there's actually a lot of scientific evidence pointing to potentially serious consequences for those who skip this important meal.

Cahill et al. (2013) documented a 27% increase in coronary heart disease amongst those North American men who regularly failed to eat a meal at the start of the day.

I'm sick enough dealing with the tail-end of my flu. I don't need to add coronary heart disease to my list of problems!

I need something quick and easy that that can use up some of the leftovers in my fridge. Soup is a good choice for using up leftovers, but it's a bit time-consuming and not a great breakfast choice. Wraps, on the other hand, are quick, easy, and fillable with whatever you want!

The Anatomy Of A Good Breakfast

In most breakfasts I try to cover two basic requirements:

  • Include all four food groups (Fruit/veg, proteins, grains, dairy)
  • Include a good amount of protein (Keeps you full)

Ingredients

You can really make breakfast wraps out of whatever you want. I used what leftovers I had on-hand, then added some breakfast ingredients and spices.

Eggs are a great starting point for any breakfast - They're a great way to add some easy protein to a meal.

I use a cast-iron pan for most of my frying, as it does a great job and is really easy to clean and maintain once you get used to using one.

I use a whole-wheat tortilla as my wrap. These give you some added fiber, making them significantly healthier than the white flour option.

Next I dice a leftover chicken breast and fry it up in the cast-iron pan until it's browned and a bit crispy.

I find four brussels sprouts in my vegetable drawer. These aren't enough for a meal and they'll likely end up in the compost bin. I dice them and fry them up as well.

While I'm waiting, I add some locally produced smoked gouda cheese to my wrap. This stuff's delicious.

I finish by adding some hot chili peppers and black pepper for a bit of flavor, and add a side of sliced apples.

Time to eat!

If you enjoy my posts, don't forget to upvote and

Thanks for reading,
-Matt

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:45:22
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @weaselhouse to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69441.29
ETH 3671.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.32