Cook With Us #10: Japanese flavours

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Hello again, people of COOK WITH US and steemit reader!
Below I present my dish to all of you, I would like to sincerely thank @chefsteve, @pandamama and @foodand art for organising this wonderful contest! Non the less, I would also like to thank everyone who gave me compliment in the last post I posted in cook with us #9. Since the theme this week is microwave/ eggs, I decided to cook as many element I could using eggs and microwave. When it comes to microwave there are actually many thing you can do with it besides reheating food and the best thing of all you can cook thing in a flash! Ofcourse there are some people that stay away from microwave but I personally don't mind it. Enough talk, let me introduce my dish to you!!

I present to you: Japan dessert delight

image.jpeg

elements:

microwave sesame chiffon cake

image.jpeg
This is pretty straight forward, first I whipped the egg white and sugar until stiff peaks, then I add in the beaten egg yolk, sesame powder and low protein flour. Once well mixed I nuke it in the microwave. This element should contribute a little bitterness to balance off the sweetness of the other ingredients. It also contributes in flavour and texture. The chiffon cake is light and fluffy, this makes the sauce able to soak into it.

microwaved sweeten red bean

image.jpeg
I rehydrated the bean before cooking it in the microwave with honey water mixture. It would not be a Japanese dessert with red bean, this should give the dish sweetness and compliment other element with its slightly creamy mouthfeel.

microwaved matcha mable meringue

image.jpegto created the mable effect, I separate the whipped egg white sugar mixture into two bowl. One bowl I added matcha powder. I place each of the whipped egg white in a pipping bag and then pipped along side each other into another pipping bag and this ready to pipe. This element is mainly for making the dish more appealing and it's also for the crunchy and set mouth feel. Meringue is usually very sweet thus I decided to balance it out a little with matcha powder which adds bitterness. Instead of plain white sugar, I used Palm sugar to give the commonly flavourless meringue a little fruity flavour.

microwaved almond, soy flour butter cookies

image.jpeg
In these cookies, they contain almond slices, soy flour, palm sugar, salt, and butter. This would be the crunchy element. This would also give the overall dish a nice nutty aroma and flavour with many cold dessert fail to provide.

microwaved miso egg custard

image.jpeg
Miso, usually used in savoury dishes. However, I find adding savoury ingredients into something sweet makes a extremely addictive dish. Don't believe me? Take maple syrup bacon for example, Sweet and savoury and it's loved by many. There is only a few ingredients in this custard, cream, egg yolk, miso and sugar. It way like planned, velvety smooth and rich in mouthfeel.

soy-sauce ice cream

image.jpeg
Made with sugar, soy sauce, cream, egg yolk, wheat bran. The wheat bran is added mainly for a little nutty flavour which I feel compliment the soy-sauce well. Like the miso egg yolk custard, the purpose of adding the soy sauce is to achieve that sweet-savoury addiction and also for its Japanese flavour!

matcha latte flavoured creme anglaise

image.jpeg
Made with egg yolk, creme, matcha powder. This is considered the most important element to the dish. It's not only harmonise the other element but it adds moisture, richness, and flavour!

and this is the end product!

image.jpeg

Hope you all find this interesting!
As always feel free to leave some honest feedback below! dont be soft on me!! :)

Sort:  

Well clearly, the microwave is not just a tool for heating up leftovers as you have have presented to us. Wonderful components and creations put together on a final plated composition. And yes, I did find this interesting and would love to taste each element in real life please.

Thanks for your beautiful and delicious entry. I now need to make something matcha to satisfy some of the craving I'm experiencing now... the rest will follow.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T08:49:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 201.50/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.28 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This is STUNNING @alansthoughts! I love the marble swirl in your meringue! The miso custards look amazing too- are they cooked in the microwave? Would you mind sharing the recipe? Love combining sweet and savoury, think I'll give your version a try!

Thanks @whattheduck!! Yes, except the creme anglaise and ice cream. Recipe for the miso custard?
Miso paste, egg yolk, brown sugar, cream/ milk( if you want a less milky taste). Amount I put is by taste and feel. :) but I would say egg yolk to milk is about 1:3 ratio

Fantastic, thank you! Will give them a try.

This is such amazing post! Your blog in general is nothing short of breathtaking.

I know steemit is flawed, and great contents like this tend to go undiscovered, but you gotta trust the fact that if you keep putting up great stuffs some curation guild or another will find your post. Sadly some can't if you keep using those damned bitbots. This would have been a surefire for a @curie vote, in fact, but for the bot votes on your previous posts.

But plaease do feel free to contact me on the curie discord to chat about @curie and curation in general.

Cheers,
Ras.

Wowy, looks absolutely amazing @alansthoughs! Good luck!

Thanks @lizelle and congrats on your win in ssc!

Thanks @alansthoughs, but I do believe we have a winner with this astonishing entry of yours, beautiful work!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Seriously this is out of this world with creativity. It will be an impossible act to follow just excellent!
Congratulations on the sandwich win!

Thanks for the big compliment, congrats to you too with the cwu contest!

Thanks I was surprised. This week I'm out because I don't use microwaves and I don't eat eggs. I'll be cheering for you good luck!

Thanks! I'll need it!

Sorry both our themes did not work for you @carolynstahl

No problem I'll sit back and enjoy the creations that people come up with!

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @goldendawne to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Awesome dessert @alanthoughs! You really made the most of the microwave and showed what can be done in there! Using just the microwave you accomplished many different textures and flavors. Your plating is modern and elegant too. Thanks for your entry!

Thanks ! There is really a lot we can do with microwave, all we need to know is the science of microwave:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86