Cook with Us #30: Seasonally spiced pumpkin & carob slices (antioxidant rich, anti-aging, super healthy!) NO SUGAR & w/ secret ingredient

in #cookwithus5 years ago (edited)

fudge2.jpg

I love a theme where you can create whatever you want, there’s no pressure and I can just enjoy the moment of cooking exactly what I want…..That's what this weeks @cookwithus theme is all about: Free for All!

….. or not cooking when it comes to this recipe!

No bake desserts are something I got into since I don’t have oven. I really have come to love them as their is no need to worry about walking away and burning something, also they keep for ages in the freezer so you don’t have to eat them all up over a couple of days and feel a bit guilty for over indulging! And there seems to be a lot more health benefits from eating raw food, which most no bake dessert are. This one did require some cooking and therefore is not completely a raw dessert.

fudge5.jpg

However Some studies have shown that higher amounts of beta carotene are found in cooked forms of fruits and veggies compared to raw. Because beta carotene converts to the fat-soluble vitamin A, it’s important to consume this nutrient with a fat for best absorption.

Beta carotene is an antioxidant that converts to vitamin A and plays a very important role in health. It’s responsible for the red, yellow, and orange coloration of some fruits and veggies

Pairing these foods, herbs, and spices with a healthy fat such as olive oil, avocado, or nuts and seeds can help their absorption.

893c7e70dccc7036b753a3678940a606.jpg

What great news! so this dessert is even healthier than I thought, the combination of the fat from the other ingredients nuts & seeds will allow better absorption of beta-carotene in the pumpkin & sweet potato

I also don't like using sugar much these days even if it's so called healthy unrefined sugar, I get jitters, heart palpitations, mood swings and crashes. So where I would of added coconut syrup to make it sweeter in the past, I haven't here although it's optional if you wish to do so.

Instead I used carob and my secret ingredient: lucuma powder which naturally have high sugar content and taste sweet. Lucuma is a Peruvian fruit and comes with a whole host of health benefits.....

06adaa39374e24a6d5caac231d0cae51.jpg

I always prefer to make basic ingredients myself, of course you can buy pumpkin puree but for me it seems cheaper and fresher to just make it myself. Same goes for the peanut butter, which you could substitute for almonds, I used my high speed food processor to grind the peanut into a butter, it takes a long time and I had to add a bit of coconut oil even there I would say I never get to the peanut butter consistency that's super creamy but it will do and you will definitely save yourself some money especially if you use almonds.

pumpkin recipe.jpg

fudge3.jpg

This recipe is for the @cookwithus competition Thanks to @curie and @sneaky-ninja for supporting the contest! Thank you to the Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for running the comp!

www.celestialcow.com

ccbannerwebsite.jpg

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

instathumbnail.jpg

facebookthumbnailxs.png

switching to a plant based diet can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

tribesteemupmemberbanner.jpg

naturalmedicinebanner.jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Sort:  

These look too good! 😍 I think I've never tasted any raw desserts (if bliss balls don't count), but I'm sure I'd like this and now I really want a piece! Also, such beautiful photos, you are a real natural! :)

thank you sweet heart 💕💜 i love being creative, i love colour, i love food that looks to beautiful to eat hehe! you are also a natural! 😊

Yum! love these @celestialcow. I love raw desserts....and of course carob! Its a great time of year, pumpkin and squash, great entry this week :) Good luck!

try to keep it as seasonal possible! pumpkin are 1 euro any size at the market atm, cant go wrong! :)

Hi @celestialcow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.432 which ranks you at #6816 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 6818).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #149.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

These look really festive. I have not used lucuma powder before and after reading your post I am truly intrigued. I do like the ease of no bake desserts and what better way to indulge than to have a tasty treat that is also good for you. Good luck @celestialcow.

thanks im not a festive kinda gal but i thought i'd try and make an effort! lucuma is one of my fav super food powders, ive been using for years now but sparingly as it is a higher price item and also not very local, i treat it as a luxury product

Hi dear @celestialcow! Your raw dessert looks so yummy and healthy! Thank you very much for giving us such a great recipe!
Good luck!

thank you, i love to share and i hope you try a raw dessert for yourself one day soon !!!

Gosh you really know how to make such healthy and fantastic-looking "treats". I say treat because I'm sure it tastes like one, but once again it is totally something you could easily include in a healthy meal plan without any guilt. Unless maybe you ate the whole batch, which I might be tempted to do... ;)

hehe thanks!!! actually its quite filling with all that potato theres still loads in the freezer but i'm defrostingone tonight :) still 4 pieces left :0

Thanks for the great recipe and for all the health advices. Your photographs are lovely

This looks like such an tasty and healthful treat! I would like to try the lucuma powder as I have never used it before. Thanks for packing this post with so much great information! Thanks also for sharing with us.

Oh wow, delicious and healthy, lovely entry! I'd like some of those please :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05