Cook with Us #15 - 5-ingredient Chickpea Fudge (vegan | gluten-free)

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

HKM_5167.JPG

When good has triumphed over evil, this is what you eat! This Indian sweet takes me back to my gran’s house, swarming with burning candles for Diwali – the ancient celebration of light. Such a wonderful autumn festival, celebrated widely in the north of India and considered one of the most significant Hindu festival’s. It signifies the power that light has over darkness. The practices marking this festival include lining houses, both inside and out, with several tealights, wearing your best outfits and eating - a lot!

HKM_5161.JPG

This is such a strange sounding recipe, but it truly and unbelievably does imitate the smooth, creamy texture of fudge (and tastes just as naughty). I will however warn you, that even though it sounds healthy with the word ‘chickpea’ in it, it is not low in sugar or fat and definitely not a healthy option in the least – but come on, it’s got to taste good somehow!

HKM_5178.JPG

The infamous chickpea fudge, known in Punjabi as ‘besan burfi’ is a proud contender at a Diwali feast, alongside an array of other delightfully sweet desserts and salty goods. It also well known for its appearances in Indian weddings, the bride and groom, required to feed it to each other’s’ parents - not the healthiest of practices, but definitely a fun one!

HKM_5170.JPG

HKM_5161.JPG

Serving size:
Makes roughly 20 chunks

Ingredients for fudge:
• 450g chickpea flour
• 150ml coconut oil
• 100ml soya milk
• 10 crushed cardamoms
• 350g caster sugar

Method:

  1. Heat the flour and the oil in a saucepan and allow to roast for 2-3 minutes, working the two together into a stiff,
    powdery paste
  2. Stir in the milk and sugar and continue to mix for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally
  3. The mixture will continue to thicken and become rather stiff
  4. The fudge should now be fragrant
  5. Add the cardamom powder and mix evenly
  6. Pour into a greased baking pan or dish and leave to cool at room temperature
  7. Cut into slices or chunks and serve
  8. Sprinkle with crushed nuts (optional)

Now you can enjoy your own chickpea fudge outside of Diwali.

PS, I forgot to include a proof photo during the actual shoot and lots of the fudge got devoured by greedy friends, but hope the following photo will suffice - there are still a few remaining crumbs!

HKM_5697.JPG

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by at my Amsterdam post! decided to follow to get myself more educated on food and learn more dishes! like the fact you participate in the @cookwithus know the one that hosts it.

Aww thank you so much @heyitshaas :-) well I hope my food posts will be informative enough for you!

I love chickpeas in any form, so I can imagine this is a delicious treat! Love hearing your story behind it, as well! I don't think I would have anything but light and positive thoughts with a piece of this in my hand. :)

Aww thank you so much @plankstoplanks, what a lovely message and a very positive thing to wake up to! :-)

This is a very famous Indian recipe called mohan thal or besan ki chakki!

Yes, I Iove it! My gran would always call it besan burfi, probably a bit easier to pronounce back when we were children!

yumm and gorgeous ... does remind me of Diwali !

Thank you :-)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-04T03:00:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 52.00/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love this! This is the best part about CwU, is that we get to learn so much from everyone's experiences. Your besan burfi looks so simple to make but the taste sounds so exotic and satisfying with nutty chickpea flour and the intoxicating perfume of cardamom. Thanks for sharing with us how your family celebrates Diwali with your chickpea fudge!

Thank you @chefsteve :-) yes I thought it would be nice to share the story, I would’ve written a bit more but I didn’t have so much time yesterday. I agree, the cardamom does give it such a nice fragrant aroma

First of all, welcome to Cook with Us! So glad you have found us. It's a fun community. I'm sure you'll get to know everyone and will feel at home right away.

Secondly, this is so weird that I'm on the other side of the judging table when we were on the same side almost a year ago in SIC. That was fun!

Interesting story @foodflaneur. I do know you live in China but had no idea about your heritage. You painted the picture of Diwali well that I can feel the warmth of your memories. Precious!

Your chickpea fudge looks delicious. I wouldn't have guessed that chickpea would make a nice fudge-like dessert/snack. Lovely ingredients for the fudge ... chickpea flour, coconut oil, cardamom ... I would have loved to be around while this was cooking to enjoy its fragrance and also to have a piece (or two).

Thank you so much @offoodandart :-) Ha yes this time you’re the judge! Well I hope one day you get to try a piece :-) it really does bring back memories for me and to be honest, I never thought about making it myself until now- I still think my gran’s was way better, but I guess that’s how it always goes!

Lovely entry @foodflaneur! My Gujerati friend always gives me a box of Diwali sweetmeats and burfi is always there, it's one of my favourites! Good luck with the contest :)

Thank you @lizelle :-) I’m glad you like burfi, it’s so tasty but so fattening, but once you have one, you have to have more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98