You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cook With Us #14- Chicken Potstickers and the BEST dipping sauce on earth

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Oh wow, these look so fantastic! I am drooling just thinking about what these would taste like. That little crispy bit on the bottom... perfection. I've never attempted to make my own potstickers, but I am going to have to save this recipe and make them for sure.

Oh, and LOL at your sea-worthy linguistics. I think it's funny your parents went with hot sauce. Mine went with the old "wash with soap" method... ick.

Sort:  

I would only eat the crispy bits if I could. So good. They're MUCH easier to make if you can find pre-made wanton wrappers, just can't seem to find them around here, but from scratch is definitely doable if you're patient. (I can't pretend these are easy peasy. I took ages to learn the folding thing, but I'm also not that coordinated...so...)

Oh, my folks tried pretty much everything- soap didn't work either, but now I can't stand the smell of bar-soap unless it's glycerin...thankfully I didn't develop a taste for that!

Thank you so much my dear sir..

What a shame you can't find wonton wrappers there. I definitely know where I can find some here, so I may have to try it. (Though I do like to make things totally from scratch, too, so I still might want to try it the old fashioned way.) The folding is the part that makes me hesitate. I'm sure it's one of those things that once you figure it out, it's a no-brainer... it's just a matter of practicing enough to get to that point. lol

It's a feel thing- the folding needs to look pretty and still not let any filling leak out. For the longest time I did the pyramid parcel fold just because that's easy, but it tastes different (I'm probably mad, but I'm convinced the crescents taste better.) So I watched youtube videos and figured it out from there. Here's a great tutorial on all the shapes if ya need it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82