HOW I GOT INTO COPYWRITING

in #copywriting4 years ago

"I never got into copywriting until I work as an Overseas Filipino Worker abroad"

Two years ago, I used to work for an old friend as a part-time content creator on her platform. I was working on a full-time job back then. However, I found to myself that I was so bad at Academic writing. I was not complying what she expected of me. I realized back then that Academic writing is something that is very challenging one to focus on, since there's no room for grammar mistakes. So after that time, I decided to finish one of her projects then quit. I opted to focus on my full-time job at that time since it required me to do so.

First of all, english isn't my first language, and not even my second language since i came from a province in Philippines.

I can only speak and write basic english just like other people in this world. But right now I am starting to learn and improve it by reading lots of books and speaking with colleagues in English.

Although I am not like any other adept writer, I am quite fond of writing. Most of the time I write on my journal basically anything what my mind conceives. I write what I think most of the time. I love expressing myself through writing since it is my one way of relieving stress.

So How did I really got into copywriting?

I had this roommate whom I co-existed before she went back to our home country who really loves reading books. One time she brought me along to her errands until she opted to go to the famous bookstore in qatar.

Arriving there, I found that they sell best seller books. And I found the ones I've always wanted to read "The Secrets of the Millionaire Mind".

My fond of books started from that book. I have finished reading it from cover to cover. I realized many things about how to generate wealth.

Then the next month, I came back to that bookstore alone and opted to buy another 3. As I roam around the book shelves, I came across this book :"The Psychology Of Selling".

At first, I got intrigued with this book since it was displayed among the best sellers. One salesman recommended me to that book and he was it was a good read. I remember myself having this thought that "selling" is a difficult skill since it requires someone to be very persuasive and yet it is one of the skills that could make someone rich as discussed in the first book that I bought.

Upon seeing this book, I remember I had the similar experience in the past when I was convincing the defiant mothers to have their babies vaccinated with the novel vaccine and it was indeed a tough experience. So I was pretty sure i could resonate with the book.

Wanting to learn about the skill of selling and persuading, I bought The Psychology Of Selling outright.

Having read the book, the salesman was right. The book was so interesting and very comprehensive. I learned a lot about how to get around selling to people with confidence and wit. It has helped me debunk my idea that "selling" is an embarrassing career.

Meanwhile, I was starting to hate my job. Despite of having a strong desire to help people, I found that I don't wanna be a nurse anymore just what I had discussed on my previous blog. I was falling out of interest in my career for the heaviest reasons.

Being desperate to get out of it, I searched down the internet about what are the ways to earn income online. Then I discovered this "copywriting". At first, I had no faintest idea what copywriting is. I kept searching on the web and I found out that it is selling / closing in print. I found it then interesting since it looks like it fits with my interests in writing.

I like the idea of copywriting because first of all, it is writing the way you talk. Where a writer doesn't have to be academic in writing a content but being blunt and persuasive. Another thing is, the skill has something to do with what i was reading from which i learned many things about how to sell a product.

For 4 months now, i am slowly integrating my learning time in copywriting. I enjoyed my learning process since I was able to easily understand the patterns and the tips of improving such skill.

I am currently making most of my off duties in practicing and learning more about this new skill. I have crafted 3 samples already to include in my writing portfolio and I am hoping that this will get me somewhere to finding an online side-hustle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54