Corona FOMO and feeling bad

in #corona4 years ago (edited)

377H.jpg

I have something slightly embarrassing to admit to, and Steemit seems to be my go-to audience in that situation. I guess it is the anonymity of this platform that makes the difference. As with so many stories online at this time, my story has to do with the covid 19 situation too.

The embarrassing bit is that while the world is battling a serious health and economic crisis I have the audacity to feel like I’m being left out of the experience. If I did not have access to social media and the news, my life would be exactly the same as always, only with slightly less toilet paper and pasta to buy.

That is exaggerating it a bit. I know that I should be grateful, and knock on wood, and who knows what will happen down the line. But 70 percent of me feels so very disappointed that I still have to go to work and don't get to experience the whole isolation/lockdown situation.

Some quick background info. I live with my husband in England. I work with animals four days a week. My husband is now off work as he worked in a shop.

I am an introvert and my dream for the future is to make a living based on working at or from home, hopefully working alongside my husband. As a writer perhaps with some homesteading on the side. I love to read and self educate, and I love being home puttering about in my own company.

And now it feels like everybody else is being handed this life that I am dreaming of, and I have to keep working, more than ever.

Boris Johnson had his big announcement of new rules for everyday life in England, and for a whole day after, my husband and I were in a strange fog of ambivalence and excitement, not knowing if any of us would be required or allowed to work in the coming days. It was exciting and scary at the same time. We said it could be like our second honeymoon. In it together and all that. But as we started to jokingly make plans for couples work out routines and watching the movies on the old watch list, I could feel the looming disappointment ready to surface if I had to continue to work. And lo and behold, I had to go to work as normal. No change. I actually cried about it...

I feel like the whole world is having this grand bonding experience and I am being left out of it. People all over the world are sharing stories about how creative or bored they are, day 12 of quarantine! How they learn new things about their partners, and how to work efficiently from home etc.
I am jealous. And it is probably not a good look on me. Maybe I should stay off social media for a while.
It is not like I am not concerned for the state of the world or have sympathy for people struggling or suffering personal losses during these times. I do. I am. But this feeling of losing out is the one that shouts the loudest at the moment.

Anybody else out there sharing a similar FOMO?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60