Hammer commission

in #cosplay6 years ago

So this was a fun project! My fiend commissioned my to make a "like a Thor's hammer but not" prop for him. He had a greek type photo shoot he was doing and wanted to have a cool prop for it.

This was hands down the largest print I've done and honestly should of used some kind of sheet plastic or wood to make the body. But I have also always wanted to see how my printer handles large build prints. It handled it like a champ!

For this project I designed the prop in Fusion 360 off of a scale drawing that my friend provided me. I then printed it in 3 parts. Left, right and top of the hammer. I then used metal pins to attach all the parts together with 5min epoxy to glue it. I then used bondo to clean up all the seams. I then used XTC-3D resin to level out all the print lines on the prop. After that all cured I used some automotive filler primer for the first two layers and then used a standard primer for the last layer. After that I used some Alclad ii paint to get the metal color, I should of used something diffrent to get a more steel look but it came out alright in the end. After that I used some crystal clear to clear everything.

For the handle I used a 3/4th in dwol and cut it to size and then stained it to look better with the prop.

Oh and fun fact for this prop I was given 3 weeks to make it so it didn't come out as nice as I wanted it to come out. Over all it was pretty good though. My friend really liked it so that's all that matters.

But either way it's really cool to say that I have made something for someone that was in a professional photo shoot!

I can't wait to do another prop commission!

IMG_4554.JPG

IMG_4546.JPG

IMG_4561.JPG

IMG_4584.JPG

Sort:  

Love seeing things like this. What kind of printer do you’ve use? Maybe an article on that for dopes such as myself who know nothing about this. Lol. I think you could do very well here on this platform if you posted more. I know it’s hard with normal life but this kind of stuff...badass man.

Thank you! :D
And yea that is a good idea! I'll do a post about my printer and equipment soon! I am starting on a few new projects soon/ this week so I will have more stuff to post about! :)

Perfect. Can’t wait to see more of what’s you can do. I’m sure the community here would as well.

id love to sponsor you for some @steembasicincome lmk when you are ready to start posting more!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57