Chara Tribetale - third WIP

in #cosplay5 years ago (edited)

Chara_wip_n.jpg

Hi everyone !
Today is th third WIP of my Chara Tribetale ! I've said that I wanted to make this post earlier but I ran out of bandwidth ._. Oh and I wanted to thanks everyone who upvote my last WIP post, it warm my heart :3

Let's start this post by talking about the belt. I've started by cutting a band in the orange fabric (height : desired height * 2, width : my waist measurement). I've used interfacing to make it more stiff and more like a real belt.
IMG_20180907_111141.jpg
The interfacing step with my dearest helper
Then I've sewn the edge and leave a gap on the larger side. I've invert the belt and made a stitching to make it more flat and nice looking.
IMG_20180907_112631.jpg
returning step
IMG_20180907_120235.jpg
belt result after the stitiching

I haven't forget to put 2 hook to close it. Then here comes the decorative part. I had 3 possibilities to decor it.
ceintures_chara.jpg
Left to right : 1, 2, 3
I wasn't sure about which one to pick. The second is the one on the impressive drawing of Chara with her cape and her crown. The first one is just between 1 and 3, detailled but not that much. The third one is the simplest but not the worst one. My heart was balancing between 2 and 3. The big work on the 2 was afraiding me a little (considering all the work around this tiny piece). I asked my helper and she told me one thing that help me a lot : "There's already a lot of detail everywhere, if you make this piece less detailled, nobody will really see it as the whole costume will be impressively detailled".
So I decided to go for the 3rd one. It would have been better to make the decoration before putting the hooks but I wanted to be sure that it fits me.

So I would tell it once more because this will be my main stitching point from now on : I'll use the point to create a buttonhole. I've chosen this point because it's the tightest point I have. So I've started by tracing the shape that I wanted to sew. Then, I've just sew along the line. I've just keep an eye on the position of the needle when arriving at a point. I've tried to let it outisde so that the point is really sharp.
IMG_20180911_150010.jpg
lines traced onto the belt

IMG_20180911_150629_1.jpg
the needle is on the outside at the point

And here's the final result.
IMG_20180911_155124.jpg

Before finishing this post, I'm going to talk about how I've started the tabard. The fisrt step was to found a way to put a tag on every fabric according to my scheme (see the first WIP). It was really important because the anise color and the light green seems to be the same fabric under some lights (like in my workshop...). So I've dispatched my fabric and took a photo. I've found my old ski grade so I decided to fix it on the light green fabric to be able to know which color is it under any lights.
IMG_20181116_170238.jpg
fabrics with the tags

To be able to make it simply, I've refered to my scheme but I've also used one of the most useful functionality of my phone : the screen spliting. It allow me to see 2 app one my screen at the same time. So I could see the fabrics and my ref image at the same time. (thanks google photo x))
Screenshot_2018-11-16-17-01-41-829_com.miui.gallery.png
split screen

So this conclude this post, I hope you enjoy it. I'll be able to remake a post here in 2 weeks because I'm going to ski this week ! (I'm so excited ! :D). The next post will be the last weekly post, I'll be up to date on my WIP posting ! Then I'll start making only monthly post (or 2 a month if I can, 1 cosplay post, 1 photography post).

Bye guys !

Sort:  

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 136 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @purplealyss! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36