Cover a Steemian - "Picture on the Wall" by Dino Romanelli - by @paintingangels

in #coverasteemian6 years ago (edited)

I wanted to cover this song so badly even though I'm not good with the guitar arrangement of it. I had to switch to minor keys and a slightly different rhythm, but tried to keep the structure of the song and the full original mood intact. Dino is one of my best friends in all of the world.. proud to cover his song. I love his music so much. ♥


See Dino's original song here:


divider2.png

PICTURE ON THE WALL

(@DinoRomanelli)

Turn about is fair play
But did you have to turn about and run away
Nothing more that I could say
'Cept couldn't you have waited just another day

I keep hearing footsteps in the hall
And I keep waiting patiently for you to call
I wasn't very well prepared for this to fall
And I still keep your picture up on the wall

Throw my hands up in the air
Try to figure out a way that all of this is fair
Had it figured we were quite a pair
But who am I to say
And, dammit, did you ever really care

I keep hearing footsteps in the hall
And I keep waiting patiently for you to call
I wasn't very well prepared for this to fall
And I still keep your picture up on the wall

So confused, oh what to do
Should I fight it out
Or take it that it's really through
Ain't no sense in any feeling blue
In fact, I very rarely ever think about you

I keep hearing footsteps in the hall
And I keep waiting patiently for you to call
I wasn't very well prepared for this to fall
And I still keep your picture up on the wall

©Affordable Music, BMI

divider2.png
page-divider-6.png

Much love and thanks to @pechichemena, who created the #CoverASteemian initiative. It's such a beautiful and meaningful way to pay tribute to independent musicians on Steemit. (Including 100 percent of the SBD earned from the cover!) Thank you, Pechi! ♥


Check out @pechichemena 's magical cover of "Home Tonight" by @zipporah!


https://steemit.com/coverasteemian/@pechichemena/cover-a-steemian-home-tonight-zipporah-cover-song




Hey! Helpie is looking for new members! @helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST. Or contact ME at Discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.



Sort:  

I love this!!! The @coverasteemian tag is such a fantastic idea!

First of all, wow! This song is beautiful. I'm really excited to listen to Dino now.

I love both of these versions as well as the way you adjusted the chords and the rhythm to your own sound. To me, they added a fragility to the voice of this person talking about their heartbreak. When I hear Dino's version, I wonder if he might be singing about a breakup that's about a year old and he's in a bit of a more reflective place. When I hear you sing it, I wonder if it's about a much more recent heartbreak and you're still going through the initial stages of it. So cool!

Ok gotta go look at kittens now that my heart is broken.

Words cannot express how deeply honored I am. This is even more perfect than I thought it would be. Thank you so much, Serena!

Thank you so much, Dino! ♥ You know how I feel about your music! ♥

I was looking to brighten my day and then looked at the music channel and saw you had a new cover.

Man I am still sad but a different kind of sad as I heard the melancholy in your voice.

I simply love hearing your Voice and I am such a fan of yours!

Your balance is below $0.25. This is your first notification that your account is running low and should be replenished.

I love this song ever since I heard the original one :) ! It has that James Taylor vibe to it .. that i like veeery much! your version has a very different touch that works beautifully Serena.

The little poop pillow adds nicely with Waffles and some sort of Raccoon flippers... nice crowd :D !

Much Love

Pechiche

that was beautiful my friend!

:)

Thank you very much, Meno! ❤️❤️❤️

I'm pretty sure I could listen to you sing any song ever written, no matter the arrangement nor accompaniment. Your tender voice is just the sweetest gift to my ears and heart.

Gorgeous song @DinoRomanelli – I'm certain this will now be in my head for the rest of today. Not a bad thing, that. ;)

steemit-posts-20.jpg

So inexplicably beautifully sung sweet Serena <3

Very nice! (Although I don't like the major version nor the minor one the lyrics are very strong and tight!)

Did my best. Sorry you didn't like it. Glad you enjoy the lyrics though. Dino is an amazing writer.

Oh no no. I liked your performance very much. Dino's too!!! But I sense that the original major (or dorian?) version is too edgy for those lyrics while your minor version needs some more edge :) It's my problem...something about the way that music makes me feel. Keep up the good work!!!

It's cool, no worries:). Thank you for commenting!

You got a 6.62% upvote from @cabbage-dealer courtesy of @omitaylor!
100% of earnings are paid out to delegators daily! Delegate today!

Thank you @omitaylor! ♥♥♥♥♥

😉


Full of surprises lol

This post has received a 4.90 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @pechichemena.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87