Cover a Steemian - 'Tired of Trying' by @geenaizzy [Cover]

in #coverasteemian6 years ago (edited)

SNOWED IN

Some of you may have heard that England is currently experiencing 'The Beast from the East' - A freezing cold Siberian storm, covering everywhere with snow. And when it in snows in England, the whole country goes into a frenzy. Schools close, the roads are blocked, the trains stop running, and generally the news will tell you it is suicide to leave your home.

I did manage to walk a few miles each day in the icy conditions, but alas, I have succumbed to CABIN FEVER. (can you tell?)

After finishing all the rations in the cupboard, I fired up the ol' laptop and stumbled into the Steemisphere, and found @pechichemena's Cover a Steemian Initiative.

This song by @geenaizzy sprang to mind, because she had said
"...I wanted to write a different song as what I normally do. Didn't work out as well."
And I wanted to prove to her that it did work out well, even better than she imagined. She was heard by us all and is appreciated out here in the Steemiverse.

Here is a video I recorded of her song. I know its a pretty crunchy recording, but after the fateful end, I fear I must now icepick my way to the nearest help centre and await rescue.

And here is Geena's sweet original version with the lyrics:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@geenaizzy/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-7-tired-of-trying

Pearly white blessings to one and all!

Sazzler J

cover a steemian.png

All SBD earnings on this post will be transferred to @geenaizzy

Sort:  

The video is not working for me anymore.... Did it get deleted?

It was lovely!!

Hey dude. I put the vid back in again after a fitful evening of self doubt! Thanks for asking anyway and saying it was lovely, it helps to feel better about putting your stuff out there when you know cool people like you might be listening xxx

I'm glad it's back up :) ... I wondered what had happened too ! @sazzler , this was lovely and this is the very first #coverasteemian ever :D ! So , it's always going to be extra special :3 . thank you very much for putting it back up ! Means a lot to me !

oooh Sazzler, don't ever listen to the "art police" you have a special talent and more importantly than that... as an artistic soul you have the need to create, don't ever ever ever let anybody stray you from your path...

Seeing the video back up put a big smile on my face this morning...

Much love to you and to my favorite crazy person..

<3

♡ hehe yes, never listen to the "art police". I'll remember that.

Wow, there was much excitement about my comment, huh? That was not meant as a "art police statement" or what ever you want to call it. And it furthermore was not meant to be discouraging. It just honestly said "the piano is out of tune" so, I can not see what it should have to do with art @meno. Instead of hide my thoughts about that, I suggest that @sazzler should just consider to get herself a piano timmer, he'll do the job, it will be quite an easy fix;) To me it honestly leds the song down because of the tuning, anyone will probably think so as if not writing it down right away in first comment which I do regret a little bit, so sorry for that directness.

I think this is a lesson for all of us... assuming is always a negative thing.. best to be clear about things, and ask when needed...

I'm glad you are here to clear this up...

cheers mate

Well, as I saw the reactions to my reply I read it again and I can easy understand why it was understood the way it was. Criticism should be more constructive than just be pointing at the negative aspects, so I will learn from that, too;)

Hi guys! Thanks for leaving comments. No worries, I understand, no-one's comments were aimed at me exactly or deliberately being negative, and besides its true!
I think Art is a personal thing, and a person could use ANY thing to berate themselves/feel failure etc. for their art or putting themselves out there. I'm lucky to have the opportunity to share with Steemit and I try not to expect anything from anyone. Just a human too. I actually do appreciate directness, but it helps if its sandwiched between other constructive things.
Anyway my piano needs it, and at some point soon I will scurry together the $80 to get a tuner in!! °•♡☆

You crazy girl! This was so awesome! I love how relaxed you presented this song, I loved the little changes and embellishments and most of all your voice! Who cares about the piano you could play on waterfilled glasses and you would sound amazing!
I can fully relate to your moment of panic though, this is what comes with being an artist I think, our self criticism is so strong. I am glad the video is back up as it is beautiful and I am honoured and grateful for this piece of music from you. xx

Whoa... it seems FREEZING over there.. I can't stand cold at all! Being raised in the Ecuadorian coast gives me zero power against cold weather . I loved the cover @sazzler , loved the relaxed vibe as if you were just hanging out with a friend , smiling and having fun :) ! Your voice has a beautiful and clear tone and it's clear you enjoyed this nice song . Thanks for joining the #coverasteemian initiative .. and... what is 'Cabin Fever' ?? LOL ! - Pechiche

:-) cabin fever is when a person spends too much time indoors and it sends them crazy, restless. It can make them go outside even in bad weather. Or in my case, turn them into even more of a weirdo and make them cover a song and then suddenly fling themselves head first into the snow.

Hey@sazzler
Nice rendition! I think your ivories could do with a tune up! Beautiful tone to your voice though!

Hello from a snowy Derbyshire!
We've been snowed in since Wednesday afternoon! Managed to venture out to Lidl today for some much needed supplies!

I am sorry, but the piano really has to be tuned!

SAAAAAZZZYYY! :( I can't load the video. I'm so excited and now I can't watch it. I tried a different computer but same thing. Maybe the link is broken? But then again other people seemed to be able to see it. 🤔
Anyway - resteemed and I say we go 50/50 on the SBD. xx

Hey Geena, ok the video is back up now! I did have a moment of panic (for reasons including because I know the piano is needs tuning.) But really its your song so you deserve to hear it! °•☆ xxx

I had listened to this yesterday... really enjoyed your beautiful voice... but the video is gone right now... Did it get deleted?

Thanks for your message @chbartist. I was worried about the piano tuning among other things and took the video down, but it is back up now! It means a lot that someone liked it enough to leave a comment wondering where it had gone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47