Need some help/Question regarding Liquid CPU Cooler.

in #cpu7 years ago (edited)

I was using the Cooler Master T4 air cooler, idle was around 50-55c (full specs below) and during a game like PlayerUknown's Battlegrounds I would hover around 67-73c.

I recently wanted to get liquid cooling but didn't have the money to throw into it, but happened to be at best buy and saw they had the H60i in stock for a pretty good price. So I bought it.

I am getting the same temperatures, even a little higher. From everything I have seen from reviews of the product and other users, I should be getting lower temps. So I am just curious if I might have installed it wrong, or maybe for some reason the CPU Fan input that I plugged it into is faulty.

Intel i7 4790k 4.0 GHz with stock MOBO Overclock to 4.4 GHz

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 980 Windforce 3X OC 4GB

EVGA SuperSC Series 2X8GB 2400 DDR3

MSI Z97 PC Mate

Kingston 120GB SSD

Toshiba 1TB HDD

EVGA 600B PSU

Rosewill ViperZ mid tower

I installed the liquid cooler last night. I put the fan against the back of the CPU as an exhaust, and then put the radiator against it. I can feel the air blowing out of it, though it doesn't feel warm at all from any kind of redistributed heat from the CPU.

I have extra fans, so once I can get more of the long screws I can add a fan to the opposite side.

Are my temperatures normal and safe? My PC came right on when I put everything back together, and even before this and my new case before it never shut off on me. With PUBG just open and at the menu it was hitting 75-78c, that doesn't seem right. My room does get hot though, and cools off substantially at night, so that could be causing higher temps too maybe.

Any advice or experience with this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56