Adventures in iron smelting

in #craft6 years ago (edited)

Today was a record breaking heat wave in Southern California. In the triple digit heat, what did I decide to do? I lit up a coal fire and decided to smelt some iron.
IMG_20180706_161317753.jpg
What I have here is a pit full of burning coal. I use a blower to pump air into the bottom of the pit to get it extremely hot. My original intention for this setup was to get iron red hot, so that it could be pounded out and manipulated. Unfortunately, the pit got so hot that my metal kept melting and dribbling to the bottom. That got me thinking: If the pit liquefies iron so easily, maybe I can find some iron ore and extract the metal from nature.
I drove down into a dry creek, and found some iron-laden sand. Since iron is heavy, it remains even when much of the other sediment is washed away by water. I tested this sand with a magnet and found that a large proportion was iron.
IMG_20180706_154038905.jpg
After I got the coal fire hot, I added the sand mixed with borax. Theoretically, the borax clings to non-metallic slag and helps to separate it out. I capped the pit and let it burn for several hours.
IMG_20180706_162450614.jpg
The pit is still too hot to find out if this worked. I'm hoping that most of the iron ran to the bottom, separate from the non-metallic components of the sand. If it did I'll be able to remove it and use it to make something. I'll let you know how it turned out tomorrow.
Let me know what you think, and if you've ever done something similar. I really don't know what I'm doing, so any advice is appreciated.

UPDATE: This really didn't work. That's not a big surprise since I had no idea what I was doing.

Sort:  

@cato-the-elder You have received a 100% upvote from @steemguard because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations @cato-the-elder! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cato-the-elder! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68