Paper Craft mixed with sewing.

in #craft7 years ago

I've always been fascinated by patterns. My grandmother had one of the fashionable (at the time) pictures on her wall and I always loved looking at it. The picture was a velvet-covered board with lots of tiny nails along the bottom and up one side.

Gold, shiny thread had been strung to form a pattern and though the string was always straight, the pattern made a delicate curve.

I die-cut out a few shapes one day and that evening, I sat watching TV while sewing the shapes.

These are some of the dies I used.

Here are the results.

And my favourite

I used 250gsm cardstock for the bases and embroidery thread for the patterns.

Sort:  

I made similar art with nails on a board and string in the 1970's. It was called "string art". My brother made a very large 2 ft x 3ft sailboat that I fondly remember.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71